blogs_treated_edge (1)  blogs_treated_edge (1)

EDGE

Dialogue entre l’art et les neurosciences

 

Traduit par Maïa Nappée, édité par Alice Krahenbuhl

Cette publication est également disponible en : English English Deutsch Deutsch

EDGE – Blurring the Borders Between Art and Neuroscience

Non-profit association

EDGE is a Berlin-based registered non-profit association. This post was written by the four core members: Tatiana Luphasina, Amelia Young, Corinna Kühnapfel, and Ian Erik Stewart

View full profile ››

Edited by Lucca Jaeckel & Abigail Calder

Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our VISION and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
   Donate

Related Content

The latest posts connected to:
Arts & Social
    6612111774
  • Perspective
  • 6 minutes
  • octobre 9, 2020
  • Arts & Music
  • Implementation & Gesellschaft
  • Neuroscience
Share:

Disclaimer : la traduction de cet article a été rédigée et révisée par des bénévoles. Les contributeurs ne représentent pas la MIND Foundation. Si vous trouvez des erreurs ou des incohérences, ou si quelque chose dans la traduction ne semble pas clair, veuillez nous en informer – nous vous remercions pour toute amélioration. Si vous souhaitez aider avec vos compétences linguistiques, vous pouvez également utiliser le lien et rejoindre les traducteurs du blog!

QU’IL SOIT ACCESSOIRE OU DÉCISIF, L’ART DANS LES NEUROSCIENCES EST UN OUTIL D’ÉDUCATION ET D’INSPIRATION, DE COMMUNICATION ET DE PARTAGE, TANT POUR LES ARTISTES QUE POUR LES NEUROSCIENTIFIQUES.

Lors du Symposium de la fondation MIND « Progrès dans la Bewusstseinskultur », ainsi que lors de la récente Convention des Membres, les invités ont probablement remarqué diverses œuvres d’art dans les nouveaux locaux de MIND, à Berlin Friedrichshain. Tous les participants, sur place et en ligne, ont également pu assister à la performance méditative, lumineuse et sonore du collectif OATS. Dans cet article, nous souhaitons partager avec vous la motivation et l’histoire qui se cachent derrière ces œuvres, ainsi que les autres versants de  EDGE.

EDGE a vu le jour il y a trois ans à Berlin, alors que étions tous étudiants en neurosciences (neurobiologie, neurosciences médicales et sciences cognitives). Nous nous sommes aperçus que beaucoup d’entre nous avaient également un don artistique, mais aucune plateforme adéquate pour l’exprimer. « Les plus grands scientifiques sont aussi des artistes », disait Albert Einstein. EDGE est né du désir de partager ce que nous trouvions beau à l’étude du cerveau.

En juillet 2018, nous avons organisé une exposition comprenant visites, conférences et sessions de questions-réponses avec les artistes . Nous avons pensé à l’exposition comme un bon format pour communiquer des connaissances scientifiques dans un style alternatif, donner un aperçu du processus scientifique et humaniser, individualiser les chercheurs aux yeux du public. Pendant quatre jours, nous avons présenté une grande variété d’œuvres : un spectacle de danse, des photographies en noir et blanc et en couleur, des aquarelles et des peintures à l’huile, des projections, un paysage sonore, un hologramme, des croquis au graphite, des boîtes lumineuses, et plus encore. Les thèmes scientifiques étaient évidents pour de nombreuses pièces, avec des images de microscopie, des agrandissements de tissus biologiques et des équipements de laboratoire. Mais, parmi les œuvres exposées, beaucoup touchaient aussi aux plans personnel et humain. Un certain nombre d’entre elles représentaient des amis et des collègues au travail, tandis que d’autres montraient le côté humain des neurosciences cliniques à travers des œuvres sur la diversité mentale. Puisque nous avions l’occasion de nous exprimer par l’art, nous avons ouvert un espace de communication entre les artistes et les visiteurs. Que veulent transmettre les artistes à propos des neurosciences ? Qui sont-ils ? Pourquoi font-ils de la recherche ? À quoi cela ressemble-t-il ? Qu’est-ce qu’ils y trouvent de beau ?

Au cours de cette exposition, nous avons reçu beaucoup de retours positifs de la part de nos collègues étudiants qui ont apprécié de développer leur créativité et d’entrer en contact avec des personnes partageant des idées similaires.  En invitant des personnes intéressées par l’intersection entre l’art et les neurosciences ; la communication neuroscientifique et la beauté du cerveau, nous avions planté une graine. Puis, nous avons poursuivi et étendu les activités du projet. En 2019, nous avons tenu le premier atelier de notre nouvelle série basée sur « Les Neurosciences et la Créativité » dans le but d’évoquer des synergies entre artistes et scientifiques ; de partager des connaissances pratiques et conceptuelles ; et de sensibiliser le grand public depuis le milieu universitaire. Nous sommes convaincus qu’un tel partage d’approches et de méthodes profite tant à l’esprit créatif qu’à l’esprit scientifique.

Plus tard cette année-là, nous avons organisé une seconde exposition d’été. Cette fois, nous avons lancé un appel ouvert aux artistes, et avons rapidement constaté que de bon nombre d’entre eux étaient inspirés par la recherche en neurosciences, en biologie et en psychologie. Leurs œuvres dépeignaient différents thèmes de neurosciences, comme la mémoire, la pleine conscience et la diversité neurologique, en utilisant même des techniques de neuro-imagerie comme l’EEG pour des performances interactives. Pour beaucoup d’entre eux, l’art est aussi une recherche : artistes et scientifiques étudient des questions similaires et tentent tous deux de se comprendre et de comprendre le monde qui les entoure. L’art pose des questions : comment conceptualiser et communiquer sur des sujets et comment en faire l’expérience.

Notre exposition a voyagé à travers deux emplacements : le foyer du CCO –  centre de recherche de la Charité à Berlin Mitte –  et une centrale électrique désaffectée à Berlin Steglitz. Ces lieux contrastés ont attiré des personnes de différents domaines et ont recontextualisé les œuvres pour de nouvelles perspectives. Cela a permis une vision nouvelle de travaux neuroscientifiques habituellement en retrait. Le Dr Mateusz Ambrozkiewicz, artiste et neuroscientifique, s’est exprimé: « Je pense que ce projet offre un aperçu approfondi du travail d’un neuroscientifique, explique le concept des maladies développementales et encourage les discussions et réflexions ». Puis, poursuivant: « Je suis ravi de pouvoir présenter mon travail sur un support différent, de toucher un public varié et d’expliquer pourquoi la recherche fondamentale est d’une utilité inestimable pour l’humanité » .1

Cet été, nous avons également établi notre collaboration avec la fondation MIND. Nous avons présenté des installations vidéo et des peintures (vous trouverez des exemples aux pages 30-34 du rapport de la conférence) dans le cadre de l’exposition accompagnant la conférence INSIGHT 2019. Un an plus tard, juste avant le symposium MIND « Progrès dans la Bewustseinskultur »,2 nous avons eu la chance de décorer le nouvel espace de bureaux de MIND à Berlin-Friedrichshain avec les œuvres de huit artistes. La journée comportait aussi la performance du collectif OATS Amsterdam, expérience directe de la connexion entre l’art et la conscience.

  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               

Depuis, nous avons consolidé notre mission : initier des collaborations interdisciplinaires entre artistes et neuroscientifiques pour faciliter le partage des connaissances conceptuelles et pratiques contemporaines ; soutenir la réalisation de projets artistiques et offrir aux artistes une plateforme d’expositions à Berlin et ailleurs. La visée de nos expositions est de permettre au grand public de se familiariser avec les neurosciences de manière interactive et ainsi de les démystifier.  Nous voulons aussi offrir aux scientifiques et aux instituts de recherche un moyen de communiquer leurs idées de manière accessible. Nous espérons que ce dialogue entre artistes et scientifiques continuera à former une communauté d’individus de tous horizons, prêts à discuter et collaborer, combinant leurs perspectives pour créer des œuvres, des biens publics.

À cette occasion, nous sommes ravis d’annoncer que, cette année, la fondation MIND nous accueillera pour la première partie de notre exposition multimédia 2020. Pendant quatre jours (du 15 au 18 octobre), nous accueillerons les neuro-curieux à cette démonstration interdisciplinaire au sujet de la beauté du cerveau comme vue par des artistes et des neuroscientifiques internationaux. Il est possible de réserver des créneaux horaires de deux heures, conformément aux mesures de sécurité de la COVID-19 (les billets seront disponibles ici).

Retrouvez quelques photos de l’exposition ici :

  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
  •                                                                                                                                               
NOTRE TRAVAIL CHEZ MIND REPOSE SUR LES DONS DE PERSONNES COMME VOUS.

Si vous partagez notre vision et si vous voulez soutenir la recherche sur les psychédéliques et l’éducation liée à ce sujet, nous vous serions reconnaissant, peu importe le montant que vous pourriez donner.

References

  1. Vingill S. Cutting EDGE Neuroscience. Phenotype (34). 2019-2020; Art-Science Crossover: 36. Available from: https://ouphenotypejournal.files.wordpress.com/2020/03/phenotype_issue34_mt19xht20.pdf
  2. Artists whose works are featured in the MIND office: Eva Romero, Christian Ebner, Bikmurzina Nailya, Taylor Smith, Maria Camila Zapata Fernandez, Geinene Carson, Virgilio Vogels, Tamari Ghelaghutashvili

blogs_treated_edge (1)  blogs_treated_edge (1)

EDGE

On the Dialogue Between Art and Neuroscience
  • Blog
  • Science
  • Perspective
  • 6 minutes
October 9, 2020
Share

EDGE – Blurring the Borders Between Art and Neuroscience is a Berlin-based registered non-profit association. EDGE is at a unique intersection between neuroscience research laboratories, institutes, scientists, and artists. Using art to communicate cutting-edge science requires interdisciplinary approaches, which EDGE fosters by building a synergistic community and networking platform, as well as encouraging knowledge exchange and discussion. In regular workshops with invited speakers, EDGE explores the intersection between neuroscience and creativity. In annual multimedia art exhibitions, the project leverages this by supporting artists to showcase immersive and interactive neuroscience art experiences open to members of the public.

This post was written by the four core members of EDGE:
Tatiana Luphasina, Amelia Young, Corinna Kühnapfel, and Ian Erik Stewart

Find EDGE online:
Website
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
Youtube
[email protected]

Edited by:
Abigail Calder
Lucca Jaeckel

Published October 2020

The header picture shows the “Fly brain Hologram” project by Hamish Logan and Tatiana Lupashina

 Portrait
Whether incidental or decisive, art in neuroscience is a tool for educating and inspiring, communicating and sharing, for artists and neuroscientists alike.

At the MIND Foundation’s Symposium “Progress on Bewusstseinskultur,” as well as the recent Members’ Convention, guests may have noticed various artworks in MIND’s new office space in Berlin Friedrichshain. Both in-person and online attendees also got to experience a meditative light and sound performance by OATS collective. In this blog post, we would like to share with you the motivation and story behind these, as well as our other work as EDGE.

EDGE came to life three years ago in Berlin, when all of us were pursuing neuroscience degrees (in neurobiology, medical neuroscience, and cognitive science). We soon realised that many of our fellow students were also talented artists, with no fitting platform to express themselves. “The greatest scientists are artists as well,” Albert Einstein once said. We believed that the study of the brain and all the beauty that neuroscience research produces is worth sharing.

Soon we decided to curate an exhibition, held in July 2018 at >topLab in the heart of Neukölln, Berlin, accompanied by tours, talks, and Q&As with the artists. We considered the exhibition an excellent way to communicate scientific knowledge in an alternative style, to provide insight into the scientific process, and to humanise and individualise researchers in the eyes of the public. For four days, we displayed a dense variety of works: a dance performance, photography in both black & white and colour, water-colour and oil paintings, projections, a sound-scape, a hologram, graphite sketches, light-boxes, and more. Scientific themes were evident in many pieces, with microscopy images, magnified blow-ups of biological tissue, and lab equipment—but there was also a lot that was personal and human in the works on display. Many depicted friends and colleagues at work, while others showed the human side of clinical neuroscience in artworks on mental diversity. Given the chance to express this through art, we opened up a space for communication between artists and visitors. What do the artists want to convey about neuroscience? Who are they? Why do they do research on? What is that like? What do they find beautiful about it?

During this exhibition, we received a lot of positive feedback from our fellow students about the chance to build on their creative expressions and connect with like-minded individuals. We had planted a seed: a demand for a community interested in the intersection of art and neuroscience, neuroscience communication, and the beauty of the brain. Thus, we continued and expanded the activities of the project. In 2019, we held our first workshop in our new series on “Neuroscience and Creativity” with the goal to evoke constructive synergies between artists and scientists, to share practical and conceptual knowledge, and to generate public outreach from academia. We are convinced that such an exchange of approaches and methods may benefit both the artistically and scientifically creative mind.

Later that year, we hosted our second summer exhibition. This time we set up an open call for artists, and we soon noticed how many artists out there are inspired by research in neuroscience, biology, and psychology. Their artworks depicted different topics in neuroscience, such as memory, mindfulness, and neurological diversity, and they even used neuroimaging techniques like EEG for interactive performances. For many of them art, too, is research: Artists are investigating similar questions to scientists and are also trying to understand themselves and the world around them. Art asks questions: how to communicate and conceptualise topics, and how to experience them.

Our exhibition travelled across two locations: the foyer of the CCO, Charité’s research facility in Berlin Mitte, and a decommissioned power plant in Berlin Steglitz. These contrasting locations attracted people from different fields and recontextualised the works for new perspectives. What emerged was new access to typically secluded neuroscientific work. Artist and neuroscientist Dr. Mateusz Ambrozkiewicz said, “I think this project offers deep insight into the work of a neuroscientist, explains the concept of developmental diseases, and attracts people to promote discussions and thought.” He continued: “I am thrilled that I can present my work in a different medium, reach a varied audience, and explain why basic research is of invaluable benefit to humankind.”1

This summer we also established our collaboration with the MIND Foundation. In the visual arts exhibition accompanying the INSIGHT conference 2019, we curated video installations and paintings (examples can be found on pages 30-34 in the conference report). One year later, we had the great opportunity to decorate MIND’s new office space in Berlin-Friedrichshain with artworks by eight different artists just before the start of the MIND Symposium on “Progress in Bewusstseinskultur.”2 The day was accompanied by an arts performance from OATS collective Amsterdam, offering a direct experience of the connection between art and consciousness.

Ever since, we have solidified our mission: to initiate interdisciplinary collaborations between artists and neuroscientists, to facilitate sharing contemporary conceptual and practical knowledge, to support the completion of art projects, and to give artists a platform for exhibitions in Berlin and beyond. We hope that members of the public who come to our exhibitions learn about neuroscience in an interactive way in order to enrich public knowledge and make science relatable. Furthermore, we want to offer scientists and research institutes a way to reach out and communicate their insights in an approachable way. We hope that this dialogue between artists and scientists will continue to form a community of individuals across disciplines to discuss and collaborate, combining perspectives to create works for the public good.

At this point, we are delighted to announce that this year, the MIND Foundation will host us for the first part of our 2020 multimedia exhibition. For four days (October 15-18), we will welcome the neuro-curious to this interdisciplinary showcase of the beauty of the brain by international artists and neuroscientists. People can book two-hour long time slots to comply with COVID-19 safety measures (tickets are available here).

Find some pictures from the exhibition here:

If you like this kind of content and want to see more of it, make a donation!

More MIND Articles

View More

References

  1. Vingill S. Cutting EDGE Neuroscience. Phenotype (34). 2019-2020; Art-Science Crossover: 36. Available from: https://ouphenotypejournal.files.wordpress.com/2020/03/phenotype_issue34_mt19xht20.pdf
  2. Artists whose works are featured in the MIND office: Eva Romero, Christian Ebner, Bikmurzina Nailya, Taylor Smith, Maria Camila Zapata Fernandez, Geinene Carson, Virgilio Vogels, Tamari Ghelaghutashvili