culture set and setting filtered  culture set and setting filtered

Kultureller Kontext und psychedelische Erfahrung

Ein Aufruf zur Erweiterung sprachlicher Vielfalt in der psychedelischen Forschung

Übersetzt von Jonas Demaku, editiert von Luise von Münchhausen

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English English

Sandeep Nayak, M.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Sandeep Nayak, MD, is a psychiatrist and postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins Center for Psychedelic and Consciousness Research.

View full profile ››

Editiert von Lucca Jaeckel & Clara Schüler

Unsere Arbeit beruht auf Spenden von Menschen wie Sie.
Wenn Sie unsere vision teilen und psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen möchten, sind wir dankbar für jeden Betrag, den Sie geben können.
   Spenden

Newsletter der MIND Foundation

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und wir halten Sie über alles, was mit der MIND Foundation zu tun hat, auf dem Laufenden.

    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Implementation & Society
      465898713
    • Perspective
    • 6 minutes
    • August 12, 2020
    • Implementation & Gesellschaft
    • Klinische Psychologie
    • Psychedelische Therapie
    Teilen:

    Disclaimer: Dieser Blogpost wurde von Volontären übersetzt und editiert. Die Mitwirkenden repräsentieren nicht die MIND Foundation. Wenn Ihnen Fehler oder Unklarheiten auffallen, lassen Sie es uns bitte wissen – wir sind für jede Verbesserung dankbar (mailto:[email protected]). Wenn Sie unser Projekt zur Mehrsprachigkeit unterstützen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte um der MIND Blog Translation Group beizutreten!

    Set und Setting umfassen nicht nur die physische Umgebung, die Persönlichkeit und den emotionalen Zustand des Teilnehmers, sondern beinhalten auch den kulturellen Kontext und „vorherrschende Ansichten über das, was real ist“

    Die psychedelische Forschung hat ein weithin diskutiertes Problem bezüglich der Diversität1,2: Die Forschung findet überwiegend in westlichen, gebildeten, industrialisierten, reichen und demokratischen (WEIRD)3 Nationen statt. Dieses Akronym wird benutzt, um Aufmerksamkeit auf die in der psychologischen Forschung vorherrschende Überrepräsentation eines Bruchteils der Menschheit zu lenken, welcher in vielerlei Hinsicht einen Außenseiter darstellt. WEIRD-Staatsangehörige haben unterschiedliche Vorstellungen von moralischer Vernunft, räumlicher Orientierung, Individualismus und sogar visueller und olfaktorischer Wahrnehmung.3,4 Darüber hinaus sind die Teilnehmer von psychedelischen Studien überwiegend weiß (82%, Stand 2018) und wohlhabend.5 Dies ist aus mehreren Gründen besorgniserregend. Ein Grund ist schlicht die mangelnde Zugänglichkeit. Viele, die von der Teilnahme an psychedelischen Studien profitieren könnten, haben keine Möglichkeit an ihnen teilzunehmen. Das hat Auswirkungen auf die Generalisierbarkeit der Forschung. Sollten Psychedelika klinisch verfügbar werden, könnte dieser Mangel an Diversität zu unvorhersehbaren Problemen führen.

    Außerdem gibt es in der  psychotherapeutischen Literatur Hinweise darauf, dass verschiedene Therapeuten je nach ethnischer Gruppe unterschiedlich effektiv sind.6-8 Bis jetzt ist es unklar, inwieweit dies auch auf psychedelische Therapie zutreffen könnte. Die Therapeuten in psychedelischen Studien sind keine besonders diverse Gruppe und das könnte für die therapeutische Wirksamkeit von Bedeutung sein. In Anerkennung dessen hat die Organisation MAPS für ihre MDMA-Studien einen Lehrgang speziell für „Therapists of Color“ initiiert.

    Auch möglich ist, dass Gruppen verschiedener Ethnien und verschiedener Sprachen unterschiedliche Arten psychedelischer Erfahrungen erleben. Der Einfluss von Set und Setting ist heute eine Binsenweisheit in Diskussionen über die psychedelische Erfahrung. Trotzdem lohnt es sich, die Bedeutung dieser Weisheit genauer zu betrachten. Set und Setting umfassen nicht nur die physische Umgebung, die Persönlichkeit und den emotionalen Zustand des Teilnehmenden, sondern beinhalten auch den kulturellen Kontext und „vorherrschende Ansichten über das, was real ist.”9

    Zum Beispiel wurden bei frühen Experimenten mit Peyote signifikante Wirkungsunterschiede zwischen Weißen und Indigenen festgestellt. „Die in klinischen Studien beschriebenen Wirkungen an Weißen unterscheiden sich so stark von denen, die von indianischen Peyotisten beschrieben wurden […], als würden diese komplett unterschiedlichen Kategorien angehören. Es scheint als sprächen sie nicht über dieselbe Sache.”10 Dabei erlebten weiße Studienteilnehmer, die Peyote im Forschungskontext einnahmen, Erfahrungen, welche durch Misstrauen, Verzweiflung, Gefühle der Bedeutungslosigkeit und „Halluzinationen mit größtenteils eigenartigem Inhalt“ geprägt waren und welchen es generell an therapeutischem Nutzen fehlte. Im Gegensatz dazu nahmen indianische Peyotisten den Kaktus im Regelfall in einem zeremoniellen Rahmen ein, mit der Erwartung einer bedeutungsvollen und nutzbringenden Erfahrung. Ihre Erfahrungen waren von therapeutischem Nutzen und beinhalteten „willkommene Zugehörigkeitsgefühle mit einer neuen, bedeutsameren […] bereits in dogmatischem Wissen vorgeprägten Realität”11 Die kulturell vorgeprägte Bedeutung einer psychedelischen Erfahrung könnte für Inhalt und Wirkung von Psychedelika von Relevanz sein.

    Deshalb lauten die kritischen Fragen in der psychedelischen Forschung: Was ist Substanz, was ist Kontext, und wie interagieren diese beiden? Diese Fragen haben ihren Ursprung in einer einflussreichen Wissenschaftssoziologie, welche unsere Ansichten prägt. Erich Studerus, ein Schweizer Psychedelika-Forscher, der in Nikolas Langlitz‘ Buch Neuropsychedelia interviewt wird, kritisiert die gängige Ansicht, dass psychedelische Effekte fast ausschließlich auf Set und Setting zurückzuführen seien.12 Er merkt an, dass diese Idee ein dualistisches Vorurteil von Mind over Matter (deutsch: Geist über Materie) widerspiegelt, das unter Psychedelika-Enthusiasten besonders beliebt ist und dass diese Idee die Psychologie über die Pharmakologie stellt.12 Die Auffassung, dass ausschließlich Set und Setting die psychedelischen Effekte bestimmen, mag ein Extrem sein, aber es gibt auch das entgegengesetzte Extrem. Nämlich die in das Design moderner klinischer Studien eingebaute Annahme, dass der aktive Wirkstoffeffekt für den therapeutischen Erfolg ausschlaggebend ist und durch den Vergleich mit einem Placebo erfolgreich von kontextuellen Faktoren getrennt werden kann. Der Mittelweg zwischen den beiden genannten Extremen erfordert den Umgang mit einer komplexen Mischung aus Effekten, deren Anteile sich nicht eindeutig in Wirkstoff und Kontext zerlegen lassen. Das Wirkstoffverhalten muss in vielen verschiedenen Kontexten und mit einer Vielzahl von Methoden untersucht werden.

    Die Art  der Beziehung zwischen Wirkstoff und Kontext zu verstehen ist die wesentliche Frage. Die Untersuchung von Effekten in verschiedenen kulturellen Kontexten ist eine Möglichkeit dieser Frage auf den Grund zu gehen. Die heutige Gestaltung klinischer Studien und anhaltende Schwierigkeiten die Diversität von Studienteilnehmer zu erhöhen bedeuten jedoch, dass dies etwas Zeit brauchen wird. Wie bereits erwähnt, findet der Großteil psychedelischer Forschung in den WEIRD Nationen statt. Dazu kommt , dass zumindest in den USA, weiße Menschen viel häufiger Psychedelika konsumieren als jede andere ethnische Gruppe.13 Allerdings gibt es einfacher zu erreichende Ziele. Online-Umfragen, die jeden erreichen können, sind in der psychedelischen Forschung allgegenwärtig. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe hat Umfragen zu  Gottes- und Entitätserfahrungen, mystischen- und Erkenntniserfahrungen und vielem mehr durchgeführt. Das psychedelische Forschungszentrum am Centre for Psychedelic Research des Imperial Collage London führt ebenfalls mehrere Onlineumfragen durch, einschließlich zukünftiger Umfragen zu Microdosing und dem zeremoniellen Gebrauch von Psychedelika.  Es gibt keinen stichhaltigen Grund, warum diese Umfragen nicht in mehreren Sprachen durchgeführt werden können. Die Umfrage „afterglow“,  durchgeführt durch die Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, ist beispielsweise in Englisch und Deutsch verfügbar.

    Solche Umfragen könnten viel zum Verständnis der Beziehung zwischen kulturellem Kontext und psychedelischer Erfahrung beitragen. Allerdings gibt es dabei auch einige Hürden. Die korrekte Übersetzung solcher Umfragen würde eine stärkere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Personen und Institutionen mit Fachkenntnissen in den jeweiligen Sprachen benötigen. Bis heute sind viele der am häufigsten in der psychedelischen Forschung verwendeten Fragebögen nicht in anderen Sprachen validiert. Diese Einschränkung gilt nicht nur für die Umfrageforschung, sondern auch für zukünftige klinische Forschung. Aus diesem Grund ist unsere Arbeitsgruppein Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlern der Ohio State University, der University of Wisconsin und des Imperial College an einer Umfrage über psychedelische Erfahrungen unter spanischen Muttersprachlern beteiligt, die das Ziel verfolgt, viele der in der psychedelischen Forschung am häufigsten genutzten Fragebögen zu validieren.

    Neben dem Gewinn an wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen hat diese Arbeit einen weiteren wichtigen Nutzen. Die Veränderung bezüglich der öffentlichen Unterstützung psychedelischer Forschung war im englischsprachigen Raum revolutionär. Ohne die Bemühungen der Forscher und ohne die Diskussionen, welche die psychedelische Forschung in der Gesellschaft erzeugt hat, wäre das nicht möglich gewesen. So ist die psychedelische Forschung nun Teil eines Dialogs mit einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit. Negative Grundhaltungen gegenüber Psychedelika bleiben in vielerlei Hinsicht die größte Herausforderung für den Fortschritt dieser Forschung. Schwierigkeiten bei der Finanzierung und andere regulatorische Probleme spiegeln diese Haltungen wider, verändern sich jedoch auch mit ihr.

    Genauer gesagt ist psychedelische Forschung eine Art Konversation mit der Gemeinschaft der Psychedelika-User. Im Gegensatz zu klinischer Forschung an den meisten anderen Medikamenten, gibt es bei Psychedelika eine meinungsstarke Gemeinschaft von Konsumenten von der die Wissenschaft viel lernen kann. Psychedelika-User haben eine hohe Bereitschaft sich an der Forschung zu beteiligen und das ist ein großer Gewinn für den Fortschritt auf diesem Gebiet, aber dieser sollte nicht als selbstverständlich angesehen werden. In den USA und in Westeuropa mag dieses Wohlwollen gegeben sein, aber womöglich ist dies nicht überall der Fall. Die Rekrutierung für unsere spanische Studiewurde zum Teil mit verständlichem Misstrauen und Skepsis betrachtet. Will man psychedelische Forschung fördern, müssen der Nutzen und die Intentionen hinter der Forschung gerechtfertigt sein. Vertrauen muss sich erst verdient werden und ich betrachte das Projekt der Verbreitung psychedelischer Umfragen in andere Sprachen als einen Schritt, dies zu versuchen.

    Meine Hoffnung ist, dass mehr Online-Umfragen übersetzt und zeitgleich in mehreren Sprachen veröffentlicht werden. Das würde eine größere internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Welt der psychedelischen Forschung erfordern, was begrüßenswert wäre. In der Zwischenzeit können Sie zur Förderung der psychedelischen Forschung beitragen, indem Sie an der spanischen Umfrage zu Psychedelika teilnehmen und diese weiterverbreiten.

    Unsere Arbeit bei MIND ist auf Spenden von Menschen wie Ihnen angewiesen.

    Wenn Sie unsere Vision teilen und psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen wollen, sind wir für jeden Betrag dankbar, den Sie geben können.

    Quellen:
    1. Yin S. How researchers and advocates of color are forging their own paths in psychedelic-assisted therapy [Internet]. WHYY. 2020 [cited 18 July 2020]. Available from: https://whyy.org/segments/researchers-advocates-of-color-are-forging-their-own-paths-in-psychedelic-assisted-therapy/
    2. Watson E. Okayplayer: Black Americans Are Building A Space In Psychedelic Drug Culture After Being Ignored For Decades – MAPS [Internet]. MAPS. 2020 [cited 18 July 2020]. Available from: https://maps.org/news/media/7541-okayplayer-black-americans-are-building-a-space-in-psychedelic-drug-culture-after-being-ignored-for-decades
    3. Henrich J, Heine S, Norenzayan A. The weirdest people in the world?. Behavioral and Brain Sciences. 2010;33(2-3):61-83.
    4. Sorokowska A, Sorokowski P, Hummel T, Huanca T. Olfaction and Environment: Tsimane’ of Bolivian Rainforest Have Lower Threshold of Odor Detection Than Industrialized German People. PLoS ONE. 2013;8(7):e69203.
    5. Michaels T, Purdon J, Collins A, Williams M. Inclusion of people of color in psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy: a review of the literature. BMC Psychiatry. 2018;18(1).1.
    6. Imel Z, Baldwin S, Atkins D, Owen J, Baardseth T, Wampold B. Racial/ethnic disparities in therapist effectiveness: A conceptualization and initial study of cultural competence. Journal of Counseling Psychology. 2011;58(3):290-298.
    7. Larrison C, Schoppelrey S, Hack-Ritzo S, Korr W. Clinician Factors Related to Outcome Differences Between Black and White Patients at CMHCs. Psychiatric Services. 2011;62(5):525-531.
    8. Hayes J, Owen J, Bieschke K. Therapist differences in symptom change with racial/ethnic minority clients. Psychotherapy. 2015;52(3):308-314.
    9. Leary T, Metzner R, Ram Dass. The psychedelic experience. New Hyde Park, N.Y.: University Books; 1971.
    10. Slotkin J. The peyote religion. Glencoe, Ill.: Free Press; 1956.
    11. Wallace A. Cultural Determinants of Response to Hallucinatory Experience. Archives of General Psychiatry. 1959;1(1):58.
    12. Langlitz N. Neuropsychedelia. Berkeley: University of California Press; 2013.
    13. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality. (2018). National Survey on Drug Use and Health 2018 (NSDUH-2018-DS0001). Retrieved from https://datafiles.samhsa.gov/

culture set and setting filtered  culture set and setting filtered

Cultural Context and the Psychedelic Experience 

A call to expand linguistic diversity in psychedelic research 
Sandeep Nayak, M.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Sandeep Nayak, MD, is a psychiatrist and postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins Center for Psychedelic and Consciousness Research.

View full profile ››
Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
Donate

MIND Foundation
Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and we’ll keep you up to date with everything to do with the MIND Foundation.

    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Clinical Psychology
    • Perspective
    • 6 minutes
    August 12, 2020
    • Clinical Psychology
    • Implementation & Society
    • Psychedelic Therapy
    Share:

    Not only does set and setting encompass the participant’s personality, emotional state, and physical environment, it also entails the cultural context and “prevailing views as to what is real.”

    Psychedelic research has a problem of diversity that has been widely discussed1,2: Research largely takes place in Western, Educated, Industrialized, Rich, and Democratic (WEIRD)3 nations. This acronym has been used to draw attention to the overrepresentation in psychological research of a fraction of humanity that is an outlier in many respects. WEIRD subjects have different notions of moral reasoning, spatial cognition, individualism, and even visual and olfactory perception3,4. Moreover, the population in psychedelic studies skews white (82% as of 2018) and affluent5. This is concerning for a number of reasons. One is simply a lack of accessibility. Many who might benefit from participation in psychedelic trials are not able to participate. This has effects on the generalizability of research. Should psychedelics become clinically available, there may be unforeseen pitfalls to this lack of diversity.

    Also, there is evidence from the psychotherapy literature that different therapists have different degrees of effectiveness across racial and ethnic groups6-8. So far, it is unclear to what extent this might be true with psychedelic therapy. Facilitators in psychedelic studies are not a very diverse group, and this may or may not be of consequence when it comes to therapeutic effectiveness. In recognition of this, the organization MAPS, for their MDMA studies, has initiated training specifically for therapists of color.

    It is also possible that different racial, ethnic, and linguistic groups have different types of psychedelic experiences. The impact of set and setting is now a truism in discussions about the psychedelic experience, though it is worth unpacking the implications of that truism. Not only does set and setting encompass the participant’s personality, emotional state, and physical environment, it also entails the cultural context and “prevailing views as to what is real9.”

    For instance, early experiments with peyote noted significant variation in effects between whites and American Indians. “The responses described in clinical experiments on Whites are so different from the responses described by Indian Peyotists […] as to fall into completely different categories. They do not seem to be talking about the same thing10.” In this era, white participants who took peyote in a research setting had experiences characterized by suspiciousness, feelings of meaninglessness and distress, “hallucinations largely idiosyncratic in content”, and a general lack of therapeutic benefits. In contrast, American Indian peyotists generally took the cactus in a ceremonial setting, with a presumption of a meaningful, beneficial experience and had therapeutic benefits and “welcome feelings of contact with a new, more meaningful […] reality prefigured in doctrinal knowledge11.” The culturally patterned meaning of a psychedelic experience may be important in the content and effects of psychedelics.

    Hence, the critical questions in psychedelic research are: what is drug, what is context, and how do these two interact? These questions are grounded in a powerful sociology of science that frames our viewpoints. Erich Studerus, a Swiss psychedelic researcher interviewed in Nicolas Langlitz’s book Neuropsychedelia, critiques the common view that psychedelic effects are almost entirely attributable to set and setting12. He notes that this idea recapitulates a dualist prejudice of mind over matter that is particularly popular among psychedelic enthusiasts and that it elevates psychology over pharmacology12. The idea that set and setting entirely dictate psychedelic effects may be an extreme, but there is also an opposite extreme. Namely, the assumption, baked into the design of modern clinical trials, that for the therapeutic outcome the active drug effect is primary and can be successfully separated from contextual factors by a placebo comparison. The middle way requires navigating a complex mixture of effects that cannot be neatly decomposed into perfect ratios of drug and context. The drug response has to be assessed in a variety of contexts and with a variety of methods.

    Understanding the nature of the relationship between drug and context is the essential question, and assessing the effects of diverse cultural contexts is one way of getting at this. However, design considerations for clinical trials and longstanding barriers to increase the diversity of participants mean this may take some time. I have mentioned that most psychedelic research takes place in WEIRD countries and on top of this–and at least in the US–white people are far more likely to use psychedelics than any other ethnoracial group13. However, there is low-hanging fruit. Online surveys that can target anyone are ubiquitous in psychedelic research. Our group has done surveys on God- and entity-encounter experiences, mystical and insight experiences, and many more. The psychedelic research center at Imperial College’s Centre for Psychedelic Research is also engaged in several online surveys, including prospective surveys about ceremonial psychedelic use and microdosing. There is no substantive reason why these cannot be done in multiple languages. For example, the afterglow survey through the Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin is available in German and English.

    Such surveys could greatly inform the relationship between cultural context and psychedelic experience. There are some barriers though. Properly translating surveys would require greater collaboration between people and institutions with expertise in the relevant languages. To date, many of the most commonly used psychedelic questionnaires are not validated in other languages. This is a limitation to not only survey research but also clinical research down the line. To this end, and in collaboration with researchers from Ohio State University, the University of Wisconsin, and Imperial College, our group is involved in a survey of native Spanish speakers about psychedelic experiences with a goal to validate many of the most commonly used surveys in psychedelic research.

    Besides gaining scientific knowledge, there is another real benefit to this kind of work. The revolution in public support for psychedelic research in the Anglosphere has been astounding. This would not have been possible without the efforts of researchers and the discussions this research has generated in society. Thus, psychedelic research forms part of a dialogue with larger society. In many ways, negative attitudes towards psychedelics remain the biggest challenge to the progress of this research. Funding restrictions and other regulatory difficulties reflect these attitudes but are also changed by them.

    More specifically, psychedelic research is a kind of conversation with the community of psychedelic users. Unlike clinical research for most drugs, psychedelics have an opinionated community of users from whom science can learn a great deal. Psychedelic users’ willingness to participate in research is a huge boon for advancing this field, but it should not be taken for granted. While this goodwill may be built up in the US and Western Europe, it may not be the case everywhere. Recruitment for our Spanish survey has at times been met with understandable suspicion and skepticism. Promoting research requires justifying the value and intentions behind the research. Trust has to be earned, and I view the project of expanding psychedelic surveys into other languages as one step in attempting this.

    My hope is that more online surveys are translated and released simultaneously in multiple languages. This would require more international collaboration across the world of psychedelic research which I would welcome. In the meantime, you can contribute to promoting psychedelic research by taking and disseminating our Spanish psychedelic survey.

    Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.

    If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.

    References
    1. Yin S. How researchers and advocates of color are forging their own paths in psychedelic-assisted therapy [Internet]. WHYY. 2020 [cited 18 July 2020]. Available from: https://whyy.org/segments/researchers-advocates-of-color-are-forging-their-own-paths-in-psychedelic-assisted-therapy/
    2. Watson E. Okayplayer: Black Americans Are Building A Space In Psychedelic Drug Culture After Being Ignored For Decades – MAPS [Internet]. MAPS. 2020 [cited 18 July 2020]. Available from: https://maps.org/news/media/7541-okayplayer-black-americans-are-building-a-space-in-psychedelic-drug-culture-after-being-ignored-for-decades
    3. Henrich J, Heine S, Norenzayan A. The weirdest people in the world?. Behavioral and Brain Sciences. 2010;33(2-3):61-83.
    4. Sorokowska A, Sorokowski P, Hummel T, Huanca T. Olfaction and Environment: Tsimane’ of Bolivian Rainforest Have Lower Threshold of Odor Detection Than Industrialized German People. PLoS ONE. 2013;8(7):e69203.
    5. Michaels T, Purdon J, Collins A, Williams M. Inclusion of people of color in psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy: a review of the literature. BMC Psychiatry. 2018;18(1).1.
    6. Imel Z, Baldwin S, Atkins D, Owen J, Baardseth T, Wampold B. Racial/ethnic disparities in therapist effectiveness: A conceptualization and initial study of cultural competence. Journal of Counseling Psychology. 2011;58(3):290-298.
    7. Larrison C, Schoppelrey S, Hack-Ritzo S, Korr W. Clinician Factors Related to Outcome Differences Between Black and White Patients at CMHCs. Psychiatric Services. 2011;62(5):525-531.
    8. Hayes J, Owen J, Bieschke K. Therapist differences in symptom change with racial/ethnic minority clients. Psychotherapy. 2015;52(3):308-314.
    9. Leary T, Metzner R, Ram Dass. The psychedelic experience. New Hyde Park, N.Y.: University Books; 1971.
    10. Slotkin J. The peyote religion. Glencoe, Ill.: Free Press; 1956.
    11. Wallace A. Cultural Determinants of Response to Hallucinatory Experience. Archives of General Psychiatry. 1959;1(1):58.
    12. Langlitz N. Neuropsychedelia. Berkeley: University of California Press; 2013.
    13. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality. (2018). National Survey on Drug Use and Health 2018 (NSDUH-2018-DS0001). Retrieved from https://datafiles.samhsa.gov/