blog-treated_a match made

Ein Match Made im Geiste:

Zur Verbindung von Achtsamkeitspraxis und Psychedelischer Therapie

 

Übersetzt von Selina Heuser, editiert von Marvin Däumichen

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English English Português Português

Selina Heuser, M.Sc.

MIND Research & Knowledge Exchange Associate

Selina's doctoral research investigates the synergy between meditation and psychedelics.

View full profile ››
Edited by Clara Schüler & Abigail Calder
Unsere arbeit bei MIND ist auf spenden von menschen wie ihnen angewiesen.
Wenn Sie unsere VISION eilen und psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen wollen, sind wir für jeden Betrag dankbar, den Sie geben können.
   Spenden

Newsletter der MIND Foundation

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und wir halten Sie über alles, was mit der MIND Foundation zu tun hat, auf dem Laufenden.



    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Psychedelic Therapy
      8733993089
    • Essay
    • 7 minutes
    • Dezember 18, 2020
    • Psychedelische Integration
    • Psychedelische Therapie
    • Psychische Gesundheit
    Teilen:

     

    DER VERSTAND IST DER FREUND
    DERJENIGEN, DIE IHN UNTER KONTROLLE HABEN,
    DOCH WIRKT ER WIE EIN FEIND
    FÜR DIEJENIGEN, DIE IHN NICHT UNTER KONTROLLE HABEN.  

    BHAGAVAD GITA, KAPITEL VI

    Jahrzehntelang wurde die wissenschaftliche Erforschung psychedelischer Substanzen aus der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft verbannt. Jetzt erlebt die psychedelische Forschung allerdings ein Revival in Form von Studien über das therapeutische Potenzial psychedelischer Substanzen bei der Behandlung von psychischen Störungen wie Depressionen, Sucht, krebsbedingten psychiatrischen Leiden und Zwangsstörungen.1 Doch mit der Erkenntnis nutzbringender Einsatzweisen von Psychedelika steht das psychedleische Forschungsfeld nun vor den nächsten wichtigen Fragen. Wir wissen, dass psychedelisch-unterstützte Therapie Symptome reduzieren kann, aber wie können Patienten diese Verbesserungen langfristig aufrechterhalten? Und gibt es begleitende Praktiken oder Therapien, die die Wirksamkeit psychedelisch-unterstützter Therapie erhöhen?

    Das Praktizieren von Achtsamkeit bietet eine mögliche Antwort auf diese Fragen. Der Begriff “Achtsamkeit” trägt eine lange Geschichte mit sich, verwurzelt mit verschiedenen asiatischen kontemplativen Traditionen. In die westliche klinische Psychotherapie wurde das Konzept in den 1980er Jahren von Jon Kabat-Zinn eingeführt. Dieser wiederum war vom Buddhismus beeinflusst und entwickelte ein Programm namens “Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction” (MBSR).2 In MBSR wird Achtsamkeit als “klares, nicht wertendes Gewahrsein von Augenblick zu Augenblick” definiert. Sie wird als eine Qualität verstanden, die zum Beispiel durch Meditation geübt werden kann.3 Mit diesem Artikel möchte ich nicht in die Debatte einsteigen, ob diese Definition von Achtsamkeit die Komplexität des Konzepts ausreichend abdeckt. Vielmehr möchte ich auf den potenziellen Nutzen der Achtsamkeitspraxis in psychedelisch-unterstützter Therapie aufmerksam machen.

    DIE KOMBINATION IST MEHR ALS DIE SUMME IHRER TEILE

    Obwohl ein Mangel an empirischer Forschung über die Nützlichkeit der Kombination von Achtsamkeitspraxis und psychedelisch unterstützter Therapie fortbesteht, haben Forscher mögliche synergistische Effekte vorgeschlagen.4–6 Bei depressiven Patienten wurde festgestellt, dass sowohl Achtsamkeitsmeditation als auch Psilocybin bestimmte psychologische und biologische Faktoren beeinflussen, die mit Depressionen in Verbindung stehen.(5) Ein Kardinalsymptom der Depression ist bedrückte Stimmung, die sich typischerweise durch negative Denkmuster, Grübeln und unzureichende Emotionsregulation verstetigt. Sowohl Achtsamkeit als auch Psilocybin können diese depressive Stimmung auf komplementäre Weise verbessern. Meditation fördert emotionale Akzeptanz und verändert damit die Art und Weise, wie Menschen ihre Gedanken wahrnehmen und mit ihnen umgehen. Psilocybin hingegen kann Gedanken direkt verändern: Es wird angenommen, dass etablierte negative Glaubenssysteme destabilisiert und peak experiences hervorgerufen werden können.7 Die sogenannten peak experiences sind durch Gefühle der Verbundenheit, Heiligkeit und Glückseligkeit gekennzeichnet und gehen oft mit dauerhaften psycho-spirituellen Einsichten einher.

    Achtsamkeit und Psilocybin können außerdem auf neurobiologische Faktoren wirken, die mit Depressionen in Verbindung stehen. Bei depressiven Patienten ist Neuroplastizität – der neuronale Mechanismus, durch den sich das Gehirn strukturell und funktionell an Veränderungen in der Umgebung einer Person anpasst – häufig beeinträchtigt. Neuroplastizität ist mit einem Protein namens Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor (BDNF) assoziiert, das bei depressiven Patienten oft abnormal niedrig ist. Längere, wiederholte Achtsamkeitspraxis scheint den BDNF-Spiegel zu erhöhen und damit Neuroplastizität zu fördern.

    Auch Psychedelika können vorübergehende, aber starke “neuroplastische Schübe” induzieren, welche den BDNF-Spiegel schon nach einer einzigen Sitzung deutlich erhöhen.5 Tierstudien zeigen eine Zunahme der Neuroplastizität auf zellulärer Ebene: Forscher verabreichten erwachsenen Ratten verschiedene psychedelische Substanzen, darunter LSD, Psilocin und DMT, woraufhin sie eine Zunahme der Dichte dendritischer Dornen beobachten konnten. Dieses Wachstum äußerte sich außerdem in Form von einer erhöhten Anzahl an Synapsen. Mit anderen Worten, innerhalb von 24 Stunden bewirkten Psychedelika, dass Neuronen der Ratten mehr Verbindungen untereinander bildeten. Diese strukturelle Veränderung wurde auch von funktionellen Veränderungen der Gehirnaktivität begleitet.8

    Was können wir aus diesen Erkenntnissen mitnehmen? Achtsamkeitsmeditation und Psilocybin wirken beide auf wichtige psychologische und biologische Faktoren, die zu Depression beitragen. Allerdings wirken sie auf unterschiedliche Weise und über einen anderen Zeitverlauf, so dass sie sich möglicherweise gegenseitig ergänzen und in Synergie wirken könnten.

    MEDITATION UND PSYCHEDELISCHE ERFAHRUNGEN: EINE SYMBIOTISCHE BEZIEHUNG?

    Die Vermutung einer Synergie zwischen Meditation und Psychedelika wird durch eine kürzlich durchgeführte doppelblinde, placebo-kontrollierte Studie von Smigielski und Kollegen6 empirisch unterstützt. Diese zeigt, dass Meditation und Psychedelika bidirektional wirken: Meditation kann die positiven Effekte von Psychedelika verstärken und umgekehrt. In einem Matched-Subjects-Design wurde 39 gesunden, erfahrenen Meditierenden auf einem 5-tägigen achtsamkeitsbasierten Meditationsretreat entweder Psilocybin oder ein Placebo verabreicht. Die Forscher verglichen dann die Effekte der Meditation allein und der Meditation mit Psilocybin auf verschiedene Ergebnisse.

    Sie fanden heraus, dass Psilocybin akut die Meditationstiefe erhöhte. Erfahrene Meditierende waren folglich unter dem Einfluss von Psilocybin besser in der Lage, bei ihrer üblichen Praxis zu bleiben. Die Psilocybin-Gruppe zeigte außerdem ein höheres Niveau an dispositioneller Achtsamkeit am Tag nach dem Retreat, was eine erhöhte Tendenz zur Achtsamkeit im Alltag widerspiegelt.

    Smigielski et al. gingen in ihrem Experiment noch einen Schritt weiter und verglichen die Werte der Psilocybin-Gruppe auf der 5-dimensionalen Altered States of Consciousness Rating Scale (11 5D-ASC) mit Werten von gesunden, nicht meditierenden Teilnehmern einer anderen Psilocybin-Studie. Die Meditierenden aus Smigielski’s Studie wiesen höhere Werte auf Unterskalen des 11 5D-ASC auf, welche peak experiences andeuten: spirituelle Erfahrung, Glückseligkeit und Einheitsgefühle. Interessanterweise erzielten sie auch niedrigere Werte auf den Subskalen zu kognitivem Kontrollverlust und Angstzuständen. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass konsequente Achtsamkeitspraxis die tendenziell subjektiv-negativen Aspekte psychedelischer Erfahrungen abmildern und positive, tiefgreifende Effekte verstärken kann.

    Abbildung 1. Die Werte der 11 5D-ASC-Skala. Die rote Linie zeigt die Werte Meditierender, die Psilocybin erhielten, während die blaue Linie die Werte der Placebogruppe anzeigt. Linien, die bis zum Rand des Kreises reichen, stehen für hohe Punktzahlen auf einer bestimmten Dimension. Aus Smigielski et al., Sci Rep. 2019.

    ACHTSAMKEITSPRAXIS ALS INTEGRATIONSWERKZEUG

    Über diese Erkenntnisse hinaus kann Achtsamkeit als ein wertvolles Werkzeug betrachtet werden, das Patienten oder Konsumenten psychedelischer Substanzen helfen kann, ihre Erfahrung zu integrieren Integrationswerkzeuge umfassen alle Praktiken, die es Menschen ermöglichen Erkenntnisse aus einer psychedelischen Erfahrung in ihren Alltag mitzunehmen. Für Patienten in psychedelisch-unterstützter Therapie gehört dazu auch die langfristige Aufrechterhaltung jeglicher Symptomreduktion. Zu den üblichen Integrationspraktiken gehören künstlerische Aktivitäten oder Gespräche nach der psychedelischen Sitzung, die dem Patienten helfen sich durch kreativen Ausdruck an die Erfahrung zu erinnern, sie zu diskutieren und zu verstehen. Der Einsatz von Achtsamkeitspraktiken zur Integration muss sich jedoch nicht auf die unmittelbare Zeitspanne nach einer Sitzung beschränken, sondern kann in allen Phasen der psychedelisch-unterstützten Therapie hilfreich sein: vor, während und nach der Sitzung.

    NUTZEN VOR DER SITZUNG

    Die kontinulierliche Übung in Achtsamkeit vor einer Sitzung hat mehrere Vorteile, die in der psychedelischen Erfahrung deutlich spürbar werden können. Zunächst einmal können Angst und kognitiver Kontrollverlust während der Erfahrung abgemildert werden.6 Selbst bei herausfordernden Erfahrungen scheinen Meditierende besser gerüstet zu sein, um sich schwierigen Gedanken, Erinnerungen und Emotionen zu stellen: Konsequente Achtsamkeitsmeditation befähigt Personen, eine akzeptierende und entspannte Haltung gegenüber auftauchenden kognitiven und emotionalen Inhalten einzunehmen.5 Schließlich kann Achtsamkeitsmeditation vor der Einnahme von Psychedelika die Wahrscheinlichkeit von peak experiences erhöhen, welche Behandlungserfolg signifikant beeinflussen.6,9

    NUTZEN WÄHREND DER SITZUNG

    Personen mit Meditationspraxis entwickeln oft eine Beziehung zu einem bestimmten Mantra oder einem Meditationsobjekt.10 Ein solches Objekt oder Mantra könnte während der Erfahrung zum Priming genutzt werden. Wenn die Aufmerksamkeit von Patienten auf diese Weise auf ihre Praxis gelenkt wird, kann dies wiederum zu peak experiences oder anderen psycho-spirituellen Einsichten führen. Darüber hinaus kann Aufmerksamkeit auf den Atem und dessen Verlangsamung Entspannung und Wohlbefinden erhöhen und Angstgefühle reduzieren.11 Tatsächlich werden meditative Elemente wie Entspannungsübungen und das Richten der Aufmerksamkeit nach innen bereits in Studien zur Psilocybin-unterstützten Therapie eingesetzt.12

    NUTZEN NACH DER SITZUNG

    Nach einer psychedelischen Erfahrung kann Achtsamkeitspraxis den Patienten helfen, die Behandlungsergebnisse langfristig aufrecht zu erhalten. Psychedelika können Gedankeninhalte einer Person verändern und negative Glaubenssysteme lockern.5 Wenn ein Patient jedoch nach der Sitzung keine neuen gesunden Glaubenssysteme entwickelt, ist es wahrscheinlicher, dass er irgendwann rückfällig wird. Eine kontinuierliche Praxis des Nicht-Wertens und der Akzeptanz kann dazu führen, dass negative Glaubenssätze und Gedankenmuster weniger zwanghaft werden. Achtsamkeit könnte darüber hinaus für gesunde mentale Strategien sorgen, um mit ungesunden Gedanken fertig zu werden. Diese Hypothese fußt auf dem Erfolg achtsamkeitsbasierter Stressreduktion (MBSR), welche Achtsamkeitspraxis zur Vorbeugung von Rückfällen bei Sucht und Depression einsetzt.13,14 Zusammenfassend: Achtsamkeitspraxis könnte von unschätzbarem Wert sein um Erfolge der psychedelisch-unterstützten Therapie aufrecht zu erhalten.

    SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG

    Abschließend lässt sich festhalten, dass Achtsamkeitspraxis und psychedelisch-unterstützte Therapie ein symbiotisches Paar bilden. Sie haben komplementäre, positive Effekte auf psychologische und biologische Defizite, die mit Depressionen in Verbindung stehen. Sie können zusammen stärker wirken als allein. Außerdem profitieren sie voneinander: psychedelische Erfahrungen können die Meditationspraxis vertiefen, und Meditation kann Menschen darauf vorbereiten, das Beste aus psychedelischen Erfahrungen herauszuholen. Es gibt überzeugende theoretische Gründe, die für Achtsamkeitspraxis als nutzbringendes Integrationswerkzeug sprechen; sowohl vor, während und auch nach psychedelischen Sitzungen. Dies erfordert allerdings weitere empirische Verifizierung mit gründlichen klinischen Studien. Letzten Endes bietet eine konsequente Achtsamkeitspraxis allen, die unter der quälenden Hartnäckigkeit des eigenen Verstandes leiden, einen möglichen Weg: Der Verstand kann ein Freund für diejenigen werden, die lernen, ihn zu kontrollieren.

    Wenn Sie der Forschung über Achtsamkeitspraxis und Psychedelika einen Schritt näher kommen möchten und bereits eine konsequente Meditationspraxis haben, möchte ich Sie dazu einladen, an der Online-Umfrage “Ways of Looking” des University College London teilzunehmen.

    Unsere Arbeit bei MIND ist auf Spenden von Menschen wie Ihnen angewiesen.

    Wenn Sie unsere Vision teilen und die psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen wollen, sind wir für jeden Betrag dankbar, den Sie geben können.

    Referenzen
    1. De N, Johnson MW, Nichols CD. Psychedelics as Medicines: An Emerging New Paradigm.  
    2. Gethin R. ON SOME DEFINITIONS OF MINDFULNESS. [cited 2020 Nov 19]; Available from: www.oed.com
    3. Bowen S, Vieten C. A compassionate approach to the treatment of addictive behaviors: The contributions of Alan Marlatt to the field of mindfulness-based interventions [Internet]. Vol. 20, Addiction Research and Theory. Taylor & Francis; 2012 [cited 2020 Nov 19]. p. 243–9. Available from: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.3109/16066359.2011.647132
    4. Walsh Z, Thiessen MS. Psychedelics and the new behaviourism: considering the integration of third-wave behaviour therapies with psychedelic-assisted therapy. International Review of Psychiatry. 2018.
    5. Heuschkel K, Kuypers KPC, Borgwardt S, Kahl KG, Zurowski B. Depression, Mindfulness, and Psilocybin: Possible Complementary Effects of Mindfulness Meditation and Psilocybin in the Treatment of Depression. A Review. Article [Internet]. 2020 [cited 2020 Nov 19];11:1. Available from: www.frontiersin.org
    6. Smigielski L, Kometer M, Scheidegger M, Krähenmann R, Huber T, Vollenweider FX. Characterization and prediction of acute and sustained response to psychedelic psilocybin in a mindfulness group retreat. Sci Rep. 2019;
    7. R.R. G, M.W. J, F.S. B, M.P. C, M.A. K, W.A. R, et al. Psilocybin-occasioned mystical-type experience in combination with meditation and other spiritual practices produces enduring positive changes in psychological functioning and in trait measures of prosocial attitudes and behaviors. J Psychopharmacol. 2018;
    8. Marlatt GA, Kristeller JL. Mindfulness and meditation. In: Integrating spirituality into treatment: Resources for practitioners. 2004.
    9. Zaccaro A, Piarulli A, Laurino M, Garbella E, Menicucci D, Neri B, et al. How Breath-Control Can Change Your Life: A Systematic Review on Psycho-Physiological Correlates of Slow Breathing. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. 2018.
    10. Griffiths RR, Richards WA, McCann U, Jesse R. Psilocybin can occasion mystical-type experiences having substantial and sustained personal meaning and spiritual significance. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 2006;
    11. Vallejo Z, Amaro H. Adaptation of mindfulness-based stress reduction program for addiction relapse prevention. Humanist Psychol. 2009;
    12. Fjorback LO, Arendt M, Ornbol E, Fink P, Walach H. Mindfulness-based stress reduction and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy – a systematic review of randomized controlled trials. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica. 2011.

fbpx
  blog-treated_a match made

A Match Made in the Mind

Combining mindfulness practice and psychedelic therapy

This post is also available in: Deutsch Deutsch

Selina Heuser, M.Sc.

MIND Research & Knowledge Exchange Associate

Selina's doctoral research investigates the synergy between meditation and psychedelics.

View full profile ››

Edited by Clara Schüler & Abigail Calder

Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
Donate

MIND Foundation
Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and we’ll keep you up to date with everything to do with the MIND Foundation.

    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Psychedelic Therapy
    • Essay
    • 7 minutes
    • December 18, 2020
    • Mental Health
    • Psychedelic Integration
    • Psychedelic Therapy
    Share:

    The mind is the friend
    Of those who have control over it,
    And the mind acts like an enemy
    For those who do not control it. 

    Bhagavad Gita, Chapter VI, The Yoga of Meditation

    After being deprived of the scientific community’s attention for decades, psychedelic research is now experiencing a revival. Specifically, there has been an increase in studies on the therapeutic potential of psychedelic substances for treating mental disorders such as depression, addiction, cancer-related psychiatric distress, and obsessive-compulsive disorder.1 But with the usefulness of psychedelics revealed, this research field is now faced with the next important questions. We know that psychedelic-assisted therapy can reduce symptoms, but how can patients sustain these improvements long term? And are there adjunct practices or therapies that enhance the efficacy of psychedelic-assisted therapy?

    Mindfulness practice provides one possible answer to these questions. The term “mindfulness” has a rich history, originating from various Asian contemplative traditions. The concept was introduced into Western clinical psychotherapy in the 1980s by Jon Kabat-Zinn, who was influenced by Buddhism and developed a program called “Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction” (MBSR).2 In MBSR, mindfulness is defined as “moment-to-moment non-judgmental awareness”. It is understood as a quality that can be practiced, for example by means of meditation.3 Without getting into the debate of whether the definition of mindfulness employed by many Western researchers covers the complexity of the concept sufficiently, I will make a case for using mindfulness practice in psychedelic-assisted therapy.

    The combination is greater than the sum of its parts

    Despite a lack of empirical research on the usefulness of combining mindfulness practice and psychedelic-assisted therapy, several researchers have suggested possible synergistic effects.4–6 In depressed patients, both mindfulness meditation and psilocybin have been found to influence certain psychological and biological factors associated with depression.(5) One cardinal symptom of depression is a depressed mood, which is typically sustained by negative thinking patterns, rumination, and inadequate emotion regulation. Both mindfulness and psilocybin can improve depressed mood in complementary ways. Meditation works through promoting emotional acceptance, hence changing the way people perceive and cope with their thoughts. Psilocybin, on the other hand, may alter those thoughts directly: it is thought to destabilize established negative belief systems and induce blissful peak experiences.7 Peak experiences are frequently characterized by a sense of connectedness, sacredness, and feelings of bliss, and they often come with lasting psycho-spiritual insights.

    Mindfulness and psilocybin may also target neurobiological factors associated with depression. In depressed patients, neuroplasticity – the neural mechanism through which the brain structurally and functionally adapts to changes in a person’s environment – is often impaired. Neuroplasticity is strongly associated with a protein called brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF), which is often abnormally low in depressed patients. Prolonged, repeated mindfulness practice seems to increase levels of BDNF, thus promoting neuroplasticity.

    Psychedelics, too, induce transient but powerful “neuroplastic boosts”, dramatically increasing BDNF levels even after a single session.5 Animal studies also show increases in neuroplasticity at the cellular level in the brain: When researchers administered adult rats various psychedelic compounds, including LSD, psilocin, and DMT, they observed significant increases in the dendritic spine density accompanied by an increased number of synapses. In other words, within 24 hours psychedelics caused the rats’ neurons to form more connections with each other. This structural change was also accompanied by functional changes in brain activity.8

    What can we take from these findings? Mindfulness meditation and psilocybin both act on some of the major psychological and biological factors contributing to depression. However, they act differently and over a different time course, thus potentially complementing each other and working in synergy.

    Meditation and psychedelic experience: a symbiotic relationship?

    A recent double-blind placebo-controlled study conducted by Smigielski and colleagues6 further supports the claim of synergy between meditation and psychedelics. It shows that they have bidirectional benefits: meditation can enhance the positive effects of psychedelics, and vice versa. Following a matched-subjects design, 39 healthy expert meditators participating in a 5-day mindfulness-based meditation retreat were either given psilocybin or a placebo. The researchers then compared the effects of meditation alone and meditation with psilocybin on several outcomes.

    Notably, they found that psilocybin acutely increased meditation depth compared to the placebo group. Thus, experienced meditators were more able to remain engaged with their usual practice under the influence of psilocybin. The psilocybin group also showed higher levels of dispositional mindfulness one day after the retreat, reflecting an increased tendency to be mindful in everyday life.

    Smigielski et al. took their experiment even further by comparing the psilocybin group’s scores on the 5-dimensional Altered States of Consciousness Rating Scale (11 5D-ASC) to those of healthy, non-meditating participants from another psilocybin study. The expert meditators showed higher scores on spiritual experience, blissful state, and feelings of unity, which are subscales indicating peak experiences. Intriguingly, they also scored lower on loss of cognitive control and anxiety. This suggests that consistent mindfulness practice may buffer against the more negative aspects of psychedelic experiences while enhancing their more positive and profound effects.

    Figure 1. The scores on the 11 5D-ASC scale. The red line indicates scores of the meditators receiving psilocybin, while the blue line indicates scores of the placebo group. Lines extending to the edge of the circle represent high scores on a given dimension. From Smigielski et al., Sci Rep. 2019.

    Mindfulness practice as an integration tool

    Above and beyond these findings, mindfulness may be framed as a valuable tool that helps patients, or any user of psychedelics, to integrate an experience. Integration tools comprise any practices that allow people to incorporate insights from a psychedelic experience into their everyday life. For patients in psychedelic-assisted therapy, this also includes sustaining any symptom reductions in the long term. Common integration practices usually include artistic activities or conversations after a psychedelic session, which help patients to remember, discuss, and understand the experience through creative expression. However, the use of mindfulness practice for integration does not need to be confined to after a session, but may be helpful at all stages of psychedelic-assisted therapy: before, during and afterwards.

    Pre-session benefits

    Practicing mindfulness consistently before a session has several benefits which become apparent when one embarks on a psychedelic experience. To start, it may buffer against anxiety and loss of cognitive control during the experience.6 Even in the case of more challenging experiences, meditators seem to be better equipped to confront difficult thoughts, memories and emotions: Consistent mindfulness meditation enables individuals to adopt an accepting and relaxed attitude towards emerging cognitive and emotional content.5 Lastly, mindfulness meditation before taking psychedelics may increase the likelihood of peak experiences, which significantly moderate treatment success.6,9

    In-session benefits

    Individuals with a meditation practice often develop a relationship to a certain mantra or object of meditation.10 Such an object or mantra could be utilized to prime an individual during the experience. Directing a person’s attention towards their practice in this way may further prompt peak experiences or other psycho-spiritual insights. Adding to this, acutely bringing awareness to and slowing down the breath may increase relaxation and comfort and reduce feelings of anxiety.11 In fact, relaxation practices and inwardly directed attention are meditative elements that are already incorporated in psilocybin-assisted therapy trials.12

    Post-session benefits

    After a psychedelic experience, the effects of mindfulness practice may help patients sustain treatment outcomes in the long-term. Psychedelics can alter the content of a person’s thoughts and destabilize negative belief systems.5 However, if a patient does not develop new healthy belief systems after the session, they are more likely to relapse eventually. Engaging in a continuous practice of non-judgmental awareness may make negative beliefs and thought patterns less compulsive. It may also ensure continuous, healthy mental strategies for coping with unhealthy thoughts. This theoretical idea is supported by the success of mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), which employs mindfulness practice to prevent relapse in addiction and depression.13,14 In sum, mindfulness practice could be invaluable for sustaining the positive outcomes of psychedelic-assisted therapy.

    Conclusion

    In conclusion, mindfulness practice and psychedelic-assisted therapy make a symbiotic match. They have complementary effects on the psychological and biological deficiencies associated with depression and may be stronger together than either alone. They also benefit each other: psychedelic experiences can deepen one’s meditation practice, and meditation can prepare people for getting the most out of psychedelic experiences. There is strong theoretical ground to argue for using mindfulness practice as an integration tool before, during, and after psychedelic sessions, which calls for empirical verification with rigorous clinical trials. When all is said and done, consistent mindfulness practice warmly offers a path to anyone who suffers from the tormenting tenacity of one’s own mind: The mind can become a friend for those who learn to control it.

    If you’d like to be one step closer to research on mindfulness practice and psychedelics and already have a consistent meditation practice, consider participating in the “Ways of Looking” online survey by the University College London.

    Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.

    If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.

    References
    1. De N, Johnson MW, Nichols CD. Psychedelics as Medicines: An Emerging New Paradigm.  
    2. Gethin R. ON SOME DEFINITIONS OF MINDFULNESS. [cited 2020 Nov 19]; Available from: www.oed.com
    3. Bowen S, Vieten C. A compassionate approach to the treatment of addictive behaviors: The contributions of Alan Marlatt to the field of mindfulness-based interventions [Internet]. Vol. 20, Addiction Research and Theory. Taylor & Francis; 2012 [cited 2020 Nov 19]. p. 243–9. Available from: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.3109/16066359.2011.647132
    4. Walsh Z, Thiessen MS. Psychedelics and the new behaviourism: considering the integration of third-wave behaviour therapies with psychedelic-assisted therapy. International Review of Psychiatry. 2018.
    5. Heuschkel K, Kuypers KPC, Borgwardt S, Kahl KG, Zurowski B. Depression, Mindfulness, and Psilocybin: Possible Complementary Effects of Mindfulness Meditation and Psilocybin in the Treatment of Depression. A Review. Article [Internet]. 2020 [cited 2020 Nov 19];11:1. Available from: www.frontiersin.org
    6. Smigielski L, Kometer M, Scheidegger M, Krähenmann R, Huber T, Vollenweider FX. Characterization and prediction of acute and sustained response to psychedelic psilocybin in a mindfulness group retreat. Sci Rep. 2019;
    7. R.R. G, M.W. J, F.S. B, M.P. C, M.A. K, W.A. R, et al. Psilocybin-occasioned mystical-type experience in combination with meditation and other spiritual practices produces enduring positive changes in psychological functioning and in trait measures of prosocial attitudes and behaviors. J Psychopharmacol. 2018;
    8. Marlatt GA, Kristeller JL. Mindfulness and meditation. In: Integrating spirituality into treatment: Resources for practitioners. 2004.
    9. Zaccaro A, Piarulli A, Laurino M, Garbella E, Menicucci D, Neri B, et al. How Breath-Control Can Change Your Life: A Systematic Review on Psycho-Physiological Correlates of Slow Breathing. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. 2018.
    10. Griffiths RR, Richards WA, McCann U, Jesse R. Psilocybin can occasion mystical-type experiences having substantial and sustained personal meaning and spiritual significance. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 2006;
    11. Vallejo Z, Amaro H. Adaptation of mindfulness-based stress reduction program for addiction relapse prevention. Humanist Psychol. 2009;
    12. Fjorback LO, Arendt M, Ornbol E, Fink P, Walach H. Mindfulness-based stress reduction and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy – a systematic review of randomized controlled trials. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica. 2011.