fbpx
 digital phenotyping filtered  digital phenotyping filtered

Votre téléphone vous connait-il mieux que votre thérapeute ?

Les promesses et périls du phénotypage numérique

Traduit par Camile Bahi, édité par Alice Krahenbuhl

Cette publication est également disponible en : English English

Prof. Dr. med. Gerhard Gründer

Professor of Psychiatry

Prof. Dr. med. Gerhard Gründer is head of the Molecular Neuroimaging Department at the Central Institute of Mental Health, Mannheim.

View full profile ››
Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
Donate

Related Content

The latest posts connected to:
Technology
    665896205
  • Perspective
  • 4 minutes
  • octobre 30, 2020
  • Medicine & Psychiatry
  • Mental Health
  • Technology
Share:

Disclaimer: This blog post translation has been contributed and reviewed by volunteers. The contributors do not represent the MIND Foundation. If you find mistakes or inconsistencies, or if something in the translation seems unclear, please let us know – we are thankful for any improvements.
If you want to help with your linguistic skills, please write to the same link and join the blog post translators!

En 2017, Tom Insel, ancien directeur du National Institute of Mental Health (NIHM), publie un court article ayant pour titre : « le phénotypage numérique – une technologie pour une nouvelle science des comportements » dans le prestigieux Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).1

Plus tôt en 2017, Insel quittait son ancien employeur Alphabet (auparavant Google), pour Mindstrong Health, une entreprise basée en Californie et d’après son site internet « dédiée à la transformation de la santé cérébrale : de meilleurs résultats grâce à une approche quantitative. »

Que veut dire « phénotypage numérique » exactement ? Le site web de Mindstrong le décrit ainsi:

« Le phénotypage numérique est au cœur de notre approche basée sur le recueil de mesures quantitatives. Le Phénotypage numérique constitue une évaluation reposant sur l’usage des smartphones : Leur utilisation croissante apporte une opportunité sans précédent pour mesurer l’humeur, la cognition et les comportements – de manière passive, objective et continue ».

D’après Insel « bien que les smartphones promettent de transformer de nombreux aspects des systèmes de soin, aucune discipline médicale n’est aussi susceptible d’être tant affectée par ce genre de technologie que ne l’est la psychiatrie. Le phénotypage numérique est le terme désormais utilisé pour décrire cette nouvelle approche visant à mesurer le comportement grâce aux capteurs dont dispose un smartphone, tels que l’interaction d’un utilisateur avec son clavier, ainsi que plusieurs données extraites de la voix et du langage».

Sachin Jain et ses collègues donnent un exemple typique de son application dans leur influent article « le phénotypage numérique » publié en 2015 : « pour un patient bipolaire dont la manie se manifeste par un flux de parole ou d’écriture rapide et ininterrompu, la maladie pourrait être caractérisée par la fréquence, la longueur et le contenu de ses contributions sur les réseaux sociaux. A travers ces applications variées, le phénotype numérique, peut aider à mieux reconnaitre les manifestations précoces de la maladie et permettre au système de santé de développer des interventions plus ciblées, rapides et adéquates.2

Insel déclare en outre que « durant les 4 dernières décennies, l’expertise comportementale, autrefois l’une des forces de la psychiatrie, a perdu de son importance alors que la recherche psychiatrique s’est concentrée sur la pharmacologie, le génome et les neurosciences, et qu’une grande partie de la pratique psychiatrique est devenue une série de brèves interventions cliniques reposant sur la gestion de la stratégie médicamenteuse. Dans un contexte de recherche scientifique, poser un diagnostic à partir du Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) est devenu un substitut à l’observation comportementale. En pratique, peu de cliniciens utilisent des outils standardisés et validés pour mesurer les émotions, la cognition ou les comportements ».

Quel crédit donner à tout cela ? Les complexités du comportement humain, et celle des désordres psychiatriques peuvent-elles être résumées par les traces que nous laissons sur nos smartphones ?  Alors que le concept de psychose est toujours flou, comment croire que les « cohérences sémantique d’extraits de discours puissent-être un prédicteur efficace des états psychotiques ? » alors que nous n’avons aucun moyen d’expliquer l’énorme hétérogénéité des troubles de l’humeur, comment pouvons-nous croire que la « variation au sein de multiples mesures recueillies par un téléphone puisse-être corrélée aux scores d’humeur ? ».1

En repensant à son passage au NIHM, Insel admet que durant 13 ans en tant que directeur du NIHM, il pense avoir échoué à « réduire le taux de suicide ou d’hospitalisation et à améliorer les soins de millions de patients atteints de maladie mentale.  Je me sens responsable de cela », admet-il.3 A présent, sous la forme de phénotypage numérique, il présente une approche encore plus réductrice des désordres psychiatriques que celle adoptée dans le Research Domain Criteria (RDoC) du NIHM, un cadre dimensionnel soutenant la recherche intégrative des (dys)fonctionnements mentaux à travers différents niveaux d’information et d’organisation.

Insel conclut : « après 40 ans de psychiatrie devenant davantage « sans esprit » que « sans cerveau » peut-être le phénotypage numérique peut-il aider à apporter un regard nouveau sur les comportements, la cognition et l’humeur. On dit des nouveaux outils qu’ils influencent bien plus la direction prise par la science bien plus que ce n’est le cas pour de nouveaux concepts. Dans ce cas, un outil omniprésent et dont le cout supplémentaire est nul, pourrait changer l’avenir de la discipline ».1

Ma conviction personnelle est que le « phénotypage numérique » pourrait-être un outil intéressant pour comprendre certains aspects des comportements humains mais reste loin de pouvoir changer « l’avenir de la discipline ». Un tel avenir, en plus d’être dénué d’esprit, présente le risque d’être dénué d’humanité.

References
  1. Insel TR. Digital Phenotyping: Technology for a New Science of Behavior. JAMA. 2017;318(13):1215-6. doi:10.1001/jama.2017.11295
  2. Jain SH, Powers BW, Hawkins JB, Brownstein JS. The digital phenotype. National Biotechnology 2015;33(5):462-463. doi:10.1038/nbt.3223
  3. Rogers A. Star Neuroscientist Tom Insel Leaves the Google-Spawned Verily for … a Startup? WIRED [Internet]. 2017 Nov 5; Available from: https://www.wired.com/2017/05/star-neuroscientist-tom-insel-leaves-google-spawned-verily-startup/

digital phenotyping filtered  digital phenotyping filtered

Does Your Phone Know You Better Than Your Therapist?

The Promise and Peril of Digital Phenotyping
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Gründer

Professor of Psychiatry

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Gründer is head of the Molecular Neuroimaging Department at the Central Institute of Mental Health, Mannheim.

View full profile ››
Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our vision and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
Donate

MIND Foundation
Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and we’ll keep you up to date with everything to do with the MIND Foundation.

    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Medicine & Psychiatry
    • Perspective
    • 4 minutes
    October 30, 2020
    • Medicine & Psychiatry
    • Mental Health
    • Technology
    Share:

    In 2017, Tom Insel, the former director of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) published a brief “viewpoint” article with the title “Digital Phenotyping – Technology for a New Science of Behavior” in the prestigious Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).1 Earlier in 2017, Insel left his former employer Alphabet (formerly Google) for the California-based Mindstrong Health, a company which, according to its website, is dedicated to “Transforming Brain Health: Better outcomes through measurement-based care.”

    What exactly is “digital phenotyping”? This again is described on Mindstrong’s website:

    “Digital phenotyping is the core of our measurement approach. Digital phenotyping is simply assessment based on smartphone use.  As smartphones have become ubiquitous, their increasing use provides an unprecedented opportunity to measure mood, cognition, and behavior – passively, objectively, and continuously.”

    According to Insel, “even though smartphone technology promises to transform many aspects of health care, no area of medicine is likely to be changed more by this technology than psychiatry. Digital phenotyping is the term now used for describing this new approach to measuring behavior from smartphone sensors, keyboard interaction, and various features of voice and speech.”

    Sachin Jain and colleagues give a typical example of the application in their influential article “The digital phenotype”, published in 2015: “For a bipolar patient whose mania is manifested in rapid, uninterruptible speech or hypergraphia, their disease could be characterized by the frequency, length and content of participation in social media. Through these varied applications, digital phenotypes can help ensure that early manifestations of disease do not go unnoticed and allow the healthcare system to develop more nimble, targeted and prompt interventions.”2

    Insel further states that “over the past 4 decades, behavioral expertise, once the strength of psychiatry, has diminished in importance as psychiatric research focused on pharmacology, genomics, and neuroscience, and much of psychiatric practice has become a series of brief clinical interactions focused on medication management. In research settings, assigning a diagnosis from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders has become a surrogate for behavioral observation. In practice, few clinicians measure emotion, cognition, or behavior with any standard, validated tools.”

    Do we really believe all this? Can the complexities of human behavior, and even more so of psychiatric disorders, be depicted by traces we leave on our smartphones? When we do not have a consistent concept of “psychosis”, how can we believe that “semantic coherence from speech samples [is] a predictor of psychosis”? 1 When we have no way to explain the enormous heterogeneity of mood disorders, how can we believe that “variation in several sensor measures [are] a correlate of mood ratings”? 1

    Looking back at his time at the NIMH, Insel admitted that in his 13 years as the director of the NIMH he doesn’t think they “moved the needle in reducing suicide, reducing hospitalizations, improving recovery for the tens of millions of people who have mental illness. I hold myself accountable for that.”3 Now, in the form of digital phenotyping, he presents an even more reductionist concept of psychiatric disorders than the one that is expressed in the Research Domain Criteria (RDoC) of the NIMH, a dimensional framework supporting the integrative research of mental (dys)function across different levels of information and organization.

    Insel concludes: “After 40 years of psychiatry becoming more mindless than brainless, perhaps digital phenotyping will help the pendulum swing back toward a fresh look at behavior, cognition, and mood. It has been said that new directions in science are launched by new tools much more often than new concepts. In this case, a tool that is inexpensive and ubiquitous may change the direction of the field.”1

    My personal belief is that “digital phenotyping” might be an interesting tool to better understand certain aspects of human behavior, but it is far from being able to “change the direction of the field”. Such a direction would not only be more mindless, but even more “human-less”.

    References
    1. Insel TR. Digital Phenotyping: Technology for a New Science of Behavior. JAMA. 2017;318(13):1215-6. doi:10.1001/jama.2017.11295
    2. Jain SH, Powers BW, Hawkins JB, Brownstein JS. The digital phenotype. National Biotechnology 2015;33(5):462-463. doi:10.1038/nbt.3223
    3. Rogers A. Star Neuroscientist Tom Insel Leaves the Google-Spawned Verily for … a Startup? WIRED [Internet]. 2017 Nov 5; Available from: https://www.wired.com/2017/05/star-neuroscientist-tom-insel-leaves-google-spawned-verily-startup/