neurons on acid filtered  neurons on acid filtered
Dr. Guilherme Gomes

Post-doctoral researcher

Dr. Guilherme Gomes is a post-doctoral researcher at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg, Germany.

View full profile ››

Edited by Lucca Jaeckel & Clara Schüler

Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our VISION and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
   Donate

Related Content

The latest posts connected to:
Neuroscience
    179397167
  • Essay
  • 10 minutes
  • juillet 1, 2020
  • Biological Sciences
  • Drug Science
  • Neuroscience
Share:

Disclaimer: la traduction de cet article a été rédigée et révisée par des bénévoles. Les contributeurs ne représentent pas la MIND Foundation. Si vous trouvez des erreurs ou des incohérences, ou si quelque chose dans la traduction ne semble pas clair, veuillez nous en informer – nous vous remercions pour toute amélioration. Si vous souhaitez aider avec vos compétences linguistiques, vous pouvez également utiliser le lien et rejoindre les traducteurs du blog!

Une nouvelle classe de substances médicamenteuses , les psychoplastogènes, pourrait inaugurer une ère nouvelle dans le traitement de la dépression.

 

La dépression est inéluctablement liée à notre époque. 350 millions de personnes souffrent en effet de cette pathologie à travers le monde. Il s’agit du trouble de santé mentale le plus courant, provoquant un éventail de symptômes tels qu’une  tristesse prolongée, de l’apathie, de l’anhédonie, ainsi qu’un sentiment de culpabilité ou une faible estime de soi. La dépression, dans sa forme la plus sévère, peut même mener au suicide, mais elle augmente également le risque de décès toutes causes confondues. L’OMS (Organisation mondiale de la Santé/WHO) la classe en 2020 comme seconde cause de morbidité mondiale1. La recherche médicale sur la dépression est actuellement confrontée à deux défis majeurs pour réussir à réduire les coûts sociétaux élevés associés à cette maladie: d’une part, nous ne comprenons toujours pas entièrement ses mécanismes neurobiologiques sous-jacents et d’autre part, bon nombre des traitements disponibles sont soit inefficaces, soit partiellement efficaces.2

Les inhibiteurs sélectifs de recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS/SSRI) sont les antidépresseurs les plus prescrits. Cependant, seulement 56% à 60% des patients répondent à ce type de traitements.3 De plus, ces substances ont un délai d’action de deux à quatre semaines, et de nombreux patients reportent des effets indésirables tels qu’une sensation de bouche sèche, une prise de poids, des maux de tête ainsi qu’une perte du désir sexuel.4 Le manque de traitements efficaces contre la dépression est aussi dû au fait que, malgré des décennies de recherche, il n’existe toujours pas de consensus sur la cause de cette pathologie ou sur les mécanismes neurobiologiques qu’elle affecte.

La recherche fondamentale montre tout de même qu’un élément important du développement de la dépression est l’exposition chronique au stress. Ceci a inspiré davantage de recherches pour des thérapies efficaces.5,6 Bien qu’il soit difficile de les extrapoler à l’Homme, les découvertes d’études pré-cliniques, en laboratoire et sur les animaux, nous aident à comprendre comment le stress impacte le cerveau et les neurones. Ces recherches montrent que l’exposition au stress peut affecter de manière profonde la plasticité structurale, la capacité des neurones à changer de forme lorsqu’ils sont stimulés. Dans la plupart des neurones, l’exposition au stress réduit le nombre d’épines dendritiques, lieu principal où ils se connectent et communiquent (voir la figure 1).

Le problème devient plus complexe lorsqu’on se rend compte que l’impact du stress est spécifique aux différentes régions cérébrales. 7,8 Au niveau de l’amygdale, centre important pour le traitement des émotions, le stress mène à une augmentation de la complexité de la morphologie neuronale en augmentant le nombre de synapses.9 Mais, dans d’autres régions comme l’hippocampe ou le cortex préfrontal – centres importants pour la prise de décisions et le traitement des informations provenant de la mémoire déclarative – le stress réduit la complexité neuronale. Les connexions synaptiques diminuent, un phénomène connu sous le nom d’élagage synaptique ou « synaptic stripping ».6

L’efficacité limitée des traitements antidépresseurs actuels pousse la communauté scientifique et médicale à se tourner vers les composés psychédéliques, avec l’espoir d’initier une nouvelle ère dans le traitement des maladies psychiatriques. Dans un essai clinique précurseur, la psilocybine a démontré être efficace pour réduire les symptômes de la dépression pour au moins deux mois.11 Fait remarquable, ces études faisaient appel à des patients résistants aux thérapies antidépressives classiques.
Qui plus est, la kétamine, de par son efficacité presque instantanée, a été désignée de « thérapie révolutionnaire » (breakthrough therapy) contre la dépression par la FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) et mise sur le marché en 2018.

Souvenez-vous, le stress induit des changements dans la morphologie neuronale. Les psychédéliques seraient-ils capables d’inverser ces changements, et cela pourrait-t-il être lié à leurs effets thérapeutiques ? Récemment, à l’occasion d’ une étude du laboratoire de David Olson de l’Université de Californie à Davis, les chercheurs ont tenté de répondre à cette question en se penchant sur les effets des substances psychédéliques sur la morphologie neuronale. Son équipe a investigué les changements de longueur et de ramification dendritiques, ainsi que le nombre d’épines et leur morphologie. Comme des branches d’arbres, les dendrites sont des ramifications cellulaires qui augmentent la portée d’un neurone donné et, de ce fait, sa connectivité (voir figure 1). Le travail d’Olson, en montrant que des substances psychédéliques de différentes classes peuvent augmenter le nombre de connexions synaptiques, inaugure une nouvelle classe de substances : les psychoplastogènes.12

Psychoplastogènes

Le terme « psychoplastogène » fait référence aux composés ayant la capacité d’altérer la morphologie neuronale, aussi désignés comme améliorant la plasticité neuronale. Dans l’étude du laboratoire de David Olson,12 les auteurs se sont demandé si des psychédéliques de classes pharmacologiques différentes (avec donc différentes cibles pharmacologiques) pouvaient changer la morphologie des neurones, altérant ainsi la probabilité d’établir des connexions entre plusieurs neurones. Le groupe de recherche a utilisé des méthodes in- vitro, ce qui signifie qu’ils ont prélevé des neurones vivants sur des cerveaux de rats, les ont mis en culture et incubés avec différentes concentrations de substances psychédéliques. Ils ont ainsi démontré que le LSD-25, la MDMA, la DMT, la kétamine et la psilocine (métabolite actif de la psilocybine) ainsi que d’autres composés psychédéliques pouvaient induire des changements dans le nombre de connexions synaptiques et dans la structure des neurones en augmentant le nombre et la longueur de leurs branches dendritiques. De plus, se basant sur leurs résultats in vitro, les auteurs ont cherché à vérifier si la DMT pouvait avoir un impact sur la morphologie neuronale lorsqu’injectée chez l’animal vivant. Ils constatèrent que, de façon semblable aux résultats in-vitro, la DMT, lorsqu’injectée, favorisait une augmentation du nombre d’épines dendritiques dans le cortex préfrontal de rats. Cet effet était accompagné de changements dans l’activité neuronale, démontrés par des enregistrements électrophysiologiques de coupes  de cerveaux de rats ayant reçu de la DMT.

La réelle surprise concernant cette étude réside dans le fait que tous les psychédéliques testés aient démontré des effets psychoplatogènes similaires, malgré le fait que les récepteurs qu’ils ciblent ne soient pas les mêmes. Naturellement, le groupe de recherche a cherché à élucider les mécanismes sous-jascents favorisant ces effets psychoplastogènes. Il est bien connu que certaines molécules appelées « facteurs neurotrophiques » sont à même d’induire des changements de morphologie neuronale. Parmi eux, le facteur neurotrophique dérivé du cerveau (ou BDNF : brain derivated neurotrophic factor) est l’un des plus étudiés. Le BDNF est membre de la famille des neurotrophines, des facteurs de croissance jouant un rôle dans la survie neuronale, la croissance et la différentiation de nouveaux neurones et synapses. Il est abondant dans des régions cérébrales impliquées dans l’apprentissage et les fonctions cognitives supérieures, comme l’hippocampe et certaines régions du cortex.13 Fait intéressant, l’exercice physique est capable d’induire la production de BDNF et à l’inverse, le stress peut l’entraver.14,15 Dans leur étude, les auteurs ont montré qu’inhiber la fonction de BDNF en bloquant les récepteurs TrkB auxquels il se fixe abolissait complètement les effets psychoplastogènes des composés tels que le LSD, la DMT ou la MDMA. Le mécanisme commun à l’effet sur la plasticité structurale pourrait donc être la cascade de signalisation du BDNF.

Ces résultats sont convaincants, mais une question subsiste : Cet effet psychoplastogène se produirait-il aussi lorsque les psychédéliques sont administrés à des animaux sujets au stress ? Récemment, une nouvelle étude a éclairci cette question.16 Les auteurs ont utilisé un protocole d’exposition chronique au stress, connu pour induire un comportement semblable à un état dépressif accompagné d’une réduction du nombre d’épines dendritiques dans les neurones du cortex préfrontal. En utilisant des techniques de microscopie par excitation à deux photons (« 2 photons imaging »), ils ont suivi la destinée d’épines dendritiques dans le cortex préfrontal et ont montré qu’une certaine proportion d’entre elles disparaissaient suite à un stress chronique. Fait intéressant, une administration unique de kétamine à dose antidépressive était à même de restaurer les épines dendritiques perdues à cause du stress chronique. De plus, les auteurs ont montré que la restauration d’épines perdues induites par la kétamine était nécessaire à l’effet comportemental de cette substance. Dans l’ensemble, la kétamine restaure les épines perdues et normalise l’activité des microcircuits dans le cortex préfrontal, menant à la rémission des symptômes dépressifs chez la souris. La figure 1 donne une représentation graphique des principaux résultats des deux études.12,16

Les résultats discutés ci-dessus génèrent de nouvelles questions :  les effets de la kétamine sont-ils spécifiques de la région cérébrale dans laquelle ils ont lieu ? Si oui, la kétamine améliore-t-elle la plasticité structurale dans des régions comme l’hippocampe ou l’amygdale ? Étant donné que d’autres composés psychédéliques comme la psilocybine ou la MDMA améliorent eux-aussi rapidement l’état dépressif, pourraient-t-ils également restaurer les épines dendritiques perdues à cause du stress chronique ?

Fig 1 : une brève explication des éléments cellulaires neuroanatomiques pertinents. Représentation graphique des principaux résultats des études de A) Ly et collègues12 et B) Moda-Sava et collègues.16 Figure adaptée à partir de Beyeler.17

 

La plasticité structurale coïncide-t-elle avec l’expérience psychédélique ?

Les études discutées ci-dessus soulèvent aussi une autre question : la plasticité structurale coïncide-t-elle avec l’expérience psychédélique ? A ce jour, les méthodes de neuroimagerie employées dans la recherche sur le cerveau humain ne confèrent pas une résolution suffisante pour visualiser les épines dendritiques. Néanmoins, plusieurs études se sont intéressées aux effets des substances psychédéliques sur le cerveau à l’aide de diverses méthodes de neuroimagerie. A partir d’une étude préliminaire de Carhart-Harris et ses collègues en 2016,18 nous avons appris que le LSD altérait le flux sanguin cérébral, l’activité électrique ainsi que la communication dans et entre les réseaux neuronaux et que ces effets étaient corrélés aux effets subjectifs. Ceci soulève la question d’une potentielle corrélation temporelle entre la plasticité structurale et l’expérience psychédélique (subjective). Il est possible que ce processus soit responsable des effets à long terme, appelés réminiscence d’effets ou « afterglow effect », d’une telle expérience.

La recherche fondamentale sur les effets psychoplastogènes des substances psychédéliques contribue grandement à notre compréhension de leurs effets sur le cerveau. Ly et al.12 ont publié la première étude démontrant de façon systématique les effets de différentes classes chimiques de psychédéliques sur la croissance de dendrites et d’épines dendritiques et Moda-Sava et al.16 ont pu montrer que la restauration des épines dendritiques induite par la kétamine dans les neurones du cortex préfrontal est indispensable pour ses effets à long terme chez la souris. A mesure que la renaissance psychédélique évolue et que l’intérêt et les financements augmentent,19 certaines des questions clés élicitées plus haut seront peut-être adressées au moyen de techniques de neuroimagerie plus puissantes et d’algorithmes d’analyse utilisés de façon appropriée. L’accessibilité d’un vaste éventail de nouvelles technologies favorisera également d’importantes avancées concernant les mécanismes moléculaires des psychédéliques. En combinant génie génétique et neurosciences, les chercheurs pourront mieux comprendre comment les psychédéliques impactent la morphologie neuronale, la plasticité synaptique et par extension, l’activité cérébrale en générale. De telles recherches assureront à coup sûr des découvertes concernant la manière dont ces substances exercent leur effet thérapeutique. Cela profitera non seulement à la recherche pour de nouveaux traitements contre les maladies psychiatriques, mais aussi à notre compréhension des bases neuronales de la conscience et de l’identité.

Notre travail chez MIND dépend de dons de personnes comme vous.

Si vous partagez notre vision et souhaitez supporter la recherche sur les psychédéliques et l’éducation liée à ce sujet, nous vous serions reconnaissant, peu importe le montant que vous pourriez donner. 

Références

1. GBD 2017 Disease and Injury Incidence and Prevalence (2018). Global, regional, and national incidence, prevalence, and years lived with disability for 354 diseases and injuries for 195 countries and territories, 1990-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. The Lancet, 392(10159):1789-1858

2. Frazer, A., & Benmansour, S. (2002). Delayed pharmacological effects of antidepressants. Molecular Psychiatry, 7, s23-s28.

3. Arroll, B., Macgillivray, S., Ogston, S., Reid I., Sullivan, F., Williams, B., Crombie I. (2005). Efficacy and tolerability of tricyclic antidepressants and SSRIs compared with placebo for treatment of depression in primary care: A meta-analysis. Annals of Family Medicine, 3(5): 449 – 456.

4. Joshi A. (2018). Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors: an overview. Psychiatria Danubia, 30(7):605-609.

5. McEwen, B. S., Eiland, L., Hunter, R. G., Miller, M. M. (2012). Stress and anxiety: Structural plasticity and epigenetic regulation as a consequence of stress. Neuropharmacology, 62(1):3-12.

6. Radley, J. J., Morrison, J. H. (2005). Repeated stress and structural plasticity in the brain. Ageing Research reviews, 4(2):271-287.

7. Patel, D., Anilkumar, S., Chattarji, S., Buwalda, B. (2018). Repeated social stress leads to contrasting patterns of structural plasticity in the amygdala and hippocampus. Behavioural Brain Research, 347:314-324.

8. Christoffel, D. J., Golden, S. A., Russo, S. J. (2011). Structural and synaptic plasticity in stress-related disorders. Rev. Neurosci. 22:535 – 549.

9. Lau, T., Bigio, B., Zelli D., McEwen, B. S., Nasca, C. (2017). Stress-induced structural plasticity of medial amygdala stellate neurons and rapid prevention by a candidate antidepressant. Molecular Psychiatry, 22: 227 -234.

10. Mithoefer, M. C., Wagner, M. T., Mithoefer, A. T., Jerome, L., Doblin, R. (2011) The safety and efficacy of MDMA-assisted psychotherapy in subjects with chronic, treatment-resistant posttraumatic stress disorder: the first randomized controlled pilot study. Journal of Psychopharmacology, 25(4):439 – 452.

11. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Bolstridge, M., Rucker, J., Day, C. M., Erritzoe, D., Kaelen, M., Bloomfield, M., Rickard, J. A., Forbes, B., Feilding, A., Taylor, D., Pilling, S., Curran, V. H., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry, 3(7):619 – 627.

12. Ly, C., Greb, A. C., Cameron, L. P., Wong J. M., Barragan, E. V., Wilson, P. C., Burbach, K. F., Soltanzadeh Zarandi, S., Sood, A., Paddy, M. R., Duim, W. C., Dennis M. Y., McAllister, A. K., Ori-McKenney, K. M., Gray, J. A., Olson, D. E. (2018). Psychedelics promote structural and functional neural plasticity. Cell Reports, 23(11):3170 – 3182.

13. Lu, B., Nagappan, G., Lu, Y. (2014). BDNF and synaptic plasticity, cognitive function, and dysfunction. Neurotrophic Factors book chapter, Handbook of experimental pharmacology, 220: 223 – 250.

14. Phillips, C. (2017). Brain-derived neurotrophic factor, depression, and physical activity: Making the neuroplastic connection. Neural Plasticity, 2017:7260130.

15. Martinowich, K., Manji, H., Lu, B. (2007). New insights into BDNF function in depression and anxiety. Nature Neuroscience, 10: 1089 – 1093.

16. Moda-Sava, R. N., Murdock, M. H., Parek, P. K., Fetcho, R. N., Huang, B. S., Huynh, T. N., Witztum, J., Shaver, D. C., Rosenthal D. L., Alway, E. J., Lopez, K., Meng, Y., Nellissen, L., Grosenick, L., Milner, T. A., Deisseroth, K., Bito, H., Kasai, H., Liston, C. (2019). Sustained rescue of prefrontal circuit dysfunction by antidepressant-induced spine formation. Science, 364(6436). pii:eaat8078.

17. Beyeler, A. (2019). Do antidepressants restore last synapses? Science, 364(6436):129 – 130.

18. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Muthukumaraswamy, S., Roseman, L., Kaelen, M., Droog, W., Murphy, K., Tagliazucchi, E., Schenberg, E. E., Nest, T., Orban, C., Leech, R., Williams L. T., Williams, T. M., Bolstridge, M., Sessa, B., McGonigle, J., Sereno, M. I., Nichols, D., Hellyer, P. J., Hobden, P., Evans J., Singh K. D., Wise, R. G., Curran, H. V., Feilding A., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Neural correlates of the LSD experience revealed by multimodal neuroimaging. PNAS, 113(17):4853 – 4858.

19. Gründer, G., 2020. German Government Funds Psilocybin Study for Depression. [Blog] Available at: https://www.mind-and-brain.institute/psychedelics/german-government-funds-psilocybin-study-for-depression/ [Accessed 17 June 2020].

newron  newron

Neurons on Acid

How psychedelics can alter neuronal structure to restore lost synapses

  • Blog
  • Science
  • Essay
  • 10 minutes
July 1, 2020
Share

Dr. Guilherme Gomes is a post-doctoral researcher at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg, Germany. He holds a PhD and a Master of Science in Biochemistry from the University of Santa Maria, Brazil. His main focus of research is synapse biology, how experiences can alter the neuron’s structure and molecular content, and how these feed back to behavior. He is also a member of the Center for Behavioral Brain Sciences, Otto von Guericke University, Magdeburg, Germany. You can contact Guilherme via email or LinkedIn.

Edited by
Clara Schüler
Lucca Jaeckel

Published July 2020

Header photo by Kushagra Kevat on Unsplash

 Guilherme_picture

A new class of drugs, the psychoplastogens, may herald a new era in depression treatment.

 

Depression is a staple of modern times, with approximately 350 million people of all ages suffering from the disease worldwide. It is the most common mental health condition, causing a range of symptoms including prolonged sadness, apathy and anhedonia, and feelings of guilt or low self-worth. Severe depression can even cause suicide, and it increases people’s risk of death from other causes too. According to the World Health Organization, depression will rank second in global disease burden in 20201. In fighting the high societal costs associated with it, medical research on depression is currently facing two key challenges: We still do not fully understand the neurobiological mechanisms underlying depression, and many of the available treatments are either ineffective or only partially effective2.

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) are the most prescribed class of antidepressant. However, only 56% to 60% of patients respond to this type of therapy at all3. Moreover, these drugs only begin to work after about two to four weeks, and many patients report side effects like dry mouth, weight gain, headaches, and loss of sexual desire4. The lack of effective therapies for depression is also due to the fact that even after decades of research, there is still no consensus on what causes it and which neurobiological mechanisms are affected.

Still, one important insight from basic research has been that exposure to chronic stress is associated with developing depression. This has driven more research for effective therapies5,6. While recognizing of the difficulties in generalizing preclinical findings to humans, animal and laboratory experiments can illuminate how stress impacts the brain and individual neurons. Such research has shown that exposure to stress can profoundly affect structural plasticity, which is the capacity of neurons to alter their shape when stimulated. In most neurons, stress exposure reduces the number of dendritic spines, the main places where neurons connect and communicate (see Figure 1).

The problem increases in complexity with the observation that stress impacts the brain in a region-specific manner7,8. In the amygdala, an important center for emotional processing, stress leads to increased complexity of neuronal morphology, due to an increase in the number of synapses9. But in other brain regions like the hippocampus and the pre-frontal cortex— important centers for decision-making and processing declarative memories —, stress reduces complexity. Synaptic contacts decrease, a phenomenon known as “synaptic stripping”6.

Cornered by the limited success of currently available treatments for depression, medical and scientific communities are now reaching out to psychedelic compounds, hoping they herald a new era in the treatment of psychiatric diseases. In a pioneering clinical trial, psilocybin has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression for at least two months11. Remarkably, these studies involved patients with treatment-resistant depression. Moreover, ketamine, improves symptoms almost immediately and received approval from the US Food and Drug Administration in 2018, designating it as a “breakthrough therapy” for depression.

Recall that stress induces changes in neural morphology. Could psychedelic compounds have the capacity to reverse such changes, and might this be linked with their therapeutic effects? Recently, a study from the lab of David Olson at the University of California, Davis, tackled this question by investigating the effect of psychedelic compounds on neuronal morphology. They investigated changes in dendritic length and branching, as well as spine number and morphology. Like tree branches, dendrites are cellular “branches” that increase the reach of a given neuron and, thereby, its connectivity (see Figure 1). According to Olson’s work, psychedelic compounds from distinct classes have the property to increase the number of synaptic contacts, inaugurating a new substance classification: the psychoplastogens12.

Psychoplastogens

The term “psychoplastogen” refers to compounds that have the capacity to alter the morphology of neurons, also referred to as enhancing neuronal plasticity. In the study from David Olson’s lab12, the authors asked whether psychedelic compounds from different classes (and therefore with distinct pharmacological targets) can alter the morphology of neurons, therefore altering the probability of contact between neurons. The group used in-vitro methods, meaning they took living neuronal cell cultures from rat brains and incubated them with different concentrations of psychedelic compounds. They showed that LSD-25, MDMA, DMT, ketamine, psilocin (the active form of psilocybin), and other psychedelic compounds could induce changes in the number of synaptic contacts, as well as in the structure of neurons, by increasing the number and length of their dendritic branches. Moreover, based on the results obtained from the in-vitro experiments, the authors tested whether DMT could also induce alterations of neuronal morphology when injected into a living animal. Similar to the in-vitro data, they found that injected DMT also promoted an increase in the number of spines in the rat prefrontal cortex. This effect was accompanied by changes in neuronal activity, demonstrated by electrophysiological recordings of brain slices from rats that received DMT.

What is so surprising about this study is that all the tested psychedelic compounds displayed similar psychoplastogenic effects, despite targeting different classes of receptors. Naturally, the research group went on to investigate the underlying mechanisms promoting these psychoplastogenic effects. It is well known that certain messenger molecules, so-called ‘brain factors’, can induce changes in neuronal morphology. Of these, brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) is one of the most studied. BDNF is a member of the neurotrophin family of growth factors, playing a key role in neuronal survival, growth, and the differentiation of new neurons and synapses. It is abundant in brain regions involved in learning and higher cognition, such as the hippocampus and different cortical areas13. Interestingly, exercise can induce BDNF production and, conversely, stress can disrupt it14,15. In the present study, the authors found that inhibiting BDNF function through blocking the TrkB receptors to which it binds completely abolished the psychoplastogenic effects of compounds like LSD, DMT, and MDMA. This suggests that BDNF signaling might be a common mechanism underlying the effects of different psychedelic compounds on structural plasticity.

These results are compelling, but one question remained: would the same psychoplastogenic effect occur when psychedelic compounds are given to animals subjected to stress? Recently, a further study has shed light on this question16. The authors used a chronic stress exposure protocol, which is known to induce depressive-like behavior accompanied by a reduction of dendritic spines in neurons of the prefrontal cortex. Employing two-photon imaging, they tracked the fate of a subset of dendritic spines in the prefrontal cortex and showed that some of them disappeared after chronic stress. Interestingly, a single antidepressant dose of ketamine was able to rescue the spines that were lost due to chronic stress. Moreover, the authors went on to show that the ketamine-induced restoration of lost spines is, in fact, crucial for the behavioral effects of the drug. Overall, ketamine treatment restores lost spines and normalizes microcircuit activity in the prefrontal cortex, leading to the remission of depression-like behavior in mice. Figure 1 provides a graphical representation of the main findings from both studies12,16.

The results discussed above warrant further questions: Is the effect of ketamine region-specific? If yes, does ketamine also enhance structural plasticity in brain regions like the hippocampus and the amygdala? And given that other psychedelic compounds, such as psilocybin and MDMA, also quickly improve depression, can they also rescue dendritic spines that were lost due to chronic stress?

Figure 1: A brief explanation of relevant cellular neuroanatomical structures. Graphical representation of the major findings from A) Ly and coworkers12 and B) Moda-Sava and coworkers16 – adapted from Beyeler17.

 

Could structural plasticity accompany the psychedelic experience?

The studies discussed above suggest another question: Could structural plasticity accompany the psychedelic experience? To date, neuroimaging methods employed in human brain research do not confer enough resolution for visualizing dendritic spines. Nevertheless, several studies have looked at the effect of psychedelic substances on the brain using a variety of neuroimaging methods. From the seminal work of Carhart-Harris and coworkers in 201618, we have learned that LSD alters brain blood flow, electrical activity, and network communication and that this correlates with its subjective effects. This raises the question of whether structural plasticity could occur in a timeframe that correlates with the psychedelic experience. A related question is whether it is responsible for the long-term effects of such an experience, sometimes called the “afterglow effect.”

Basic research on the psychoplastogenic effects of psychedelic drugs contributes greatly to our understanding of their effects on the brain. Ly et al.12 published the first study to systematically show the effects of different chemical classes of psychedelics on the growth of both dendrites and dendritic spines, and Moda-Sava et al.16 were able to show that the ketamine-induced restoration of dendritic spines in neurons of the prefrontal cortex is essential for its long-term effects in mice. As the psychedelic renaissance evolves and interest and funding increase19, some of the key questions outlined above will hopefully be addressed using more powerful neuroimaging techniques and analysis algorithms. The research community will also be able to produce important insights into the molecular mechanisms of psychedelics using a wide range of new technologies. By combining genetic engineering and neuroscience, they will be able to better understand how psychedelics impact neuronal morphology and synaptic connectivity, and therefore overall brain activity. Such research will surely also lead to insights on how these substances bring about their therapeutic effects. This will benefit not only the quest for new treatments for psychiatric disorders, but also the understanding of the neurobiological basis of consciousness and self.

If you like this kind of content and want to see more of it,
make a donation!

More MIND Articles

View More
References

1. GBD 2017 Disease and Injury Incidence and Prevalence (2018). Global, regional, and national incidence, prevalence, and years lived with disability for 354 diseases and injuries for 195 countries and territories, 1990-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. The Lancet, 392(10159):1789-1858

2. Frazer, A., & Benmansour, S. (2002). Delayed pharmacological effects of antidepressants. Molecular Psychiatry, 7, s23-s28.

3. Arroll, B., Macgillivray, S., Ogston, S., Reid I., Sullivan, F., Williams, B., Crombie I. (2005). Efficacy and tolerability of tricyclic antidepressants and SSRIs compared with placebo for treatment of depression in primary care: A meta-analysis. Annals of Family Medicine, 3(5): 449 – 456.

4. Joshi A. (2018). Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors: an overview. Psychiatria Danubia, 30(7):605-609.

5. McEwen, B. S., Eiland, L., Hunter, R. G., Miller, M. M. (2012). Stress and anxiety: Structural plasticity and epigenetic regulation as a consequence of stress. Neuropharmacology, 62(1):3-12.

6. Radley, J. J., Morrison, J. H. (2005). Repeated stress and structural plasticity in the brain. Ageing Research reviews, 4(2):271-287.

7. Patel, D., Anilkumar, S., Chattarji, S., Buwalda, B. (2018). Repeated social stress leads to contrasting patterns of structural plasticity in the amygdala and hippocampus. Behavioural Brain Research, 347:314-324.

8. Christoffel, D. J., Golden, S. A., Russo, S. J. (2011). Structural and synaptic plasticity in stress-related disorders. Rev. Neurosci. 22:535 – 549.

9. Lau, T., Bigio, B., Zelli D., McEwen, B. S., Nasca, C. (2017). Stress-induced structural plasticity of medial amygdala stellate neurons and rapid prevention by a candidate antidepressant. Molecular Psychiatry, 22: 227 -234.

10. Mithoefer, M. C., Wagner, M. T., Mithoefer, A. T., Jerome, L., Doblin, R. (2011) The safety and efficacy of MDMA-assisted psychotherapy in subjects with chronic, treatment-resistant posttraumatic stress disorder: the first randomized controlled pilot study. Journal of Psychopharmacology, 25(4):439 – 452.

11. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Bolstridge, M., Rucker, J., Day, C. M., Erritzoe, D., Kaelen, M., Bloomfield, M., Rickard, J. A., Forbes, B., Feilding, A., Taylor, D., Pilling, S., Curran, V. H., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry, 3(7):619 – 627.

12. Ly, C., Greb, A. C., Cameron, L. P., Wong J. M., Barragan, E. V., Wilson, P. C., Burbach, K. F., Soltanzadeh Zarandi, S., Sood, A., Paddy, M. R., Duim, W. C., Dennis M. Y., McAllister, A. K., Ori-McKenney, K. M., Gray, J. A., Olson, D. E. (2018). Psychedelics promote structural and functional neural plasticity. Cell Reports, 23(11):3170 – 3182.

13. Lu, B., Nagappan, G., Lu, Y. (2014). BDNF and synaptic plasticity, cognitive function, and dysfunction. Neurotrophic Factors book chapter, Handbook of experimental pharmacology, 220: 223 – 250.

14. Phillips, C. (2017). Brain-derived neurotrophic factor, depression, and physical activity: Making the neuroplastic connection. Neural Plasticity, 2017:7260130.

15. Martinowich, K., Manji, H., Lu, B. (2007). New insights into BDNF function in depression and anxiety. Nature Neuroscience, 10: 1089 – 1093.

16. Moda-Sava, R. N., Murdock, M. H., Parek, P. K., Fetcho, R. N., Huang, B. S., Huynh, T. N., Witztum, J., Shaver, D. C., Rosenthal D. L., Alway, E. J., Lopez, K., Meng, Y., Nellissen, L., Grosenick, L., Milner, T. A., Deisseroth, K., Bito, H., Kasai, H., Liston, C. (2019). Sustained rescue of prefrontal circuit dysfunction by antidepressant-induced spine formation. Science, 364(6436). pii:eaat8078.

17. Beyeler, A. (2019). Do antidepressants restore last synapses? Science, 364(6436):129 – 130.

18. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Muthukumaraswamy, S., Roseman, L., Kaelen, M., Droog, W., Murphy, K., Tagliazucchi, E., Schenberg, E. E., Nest, T., Orban, C., Leech, R., Williams L. T., Williams, T. M., Bolstridge, M., Sessa, B., McGonigle, J., Sereno, M. I., Nichols, D., Hellyer, P. J., Hobden, P., Evans J., Singh K. D., Wise, R. G., Curran, H. V., Feilding A., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Neural correlates of the LSD experience revealed by multimodal neuroimaging. PNAS, 113(17):4853 – 4858.

19. Gründer, G., 2020. German Government Funds Psilocybin Study for Depression. [Blog] Available at: https://www.mind-and-brain.institute/psychedelics/german-government-funds-psilocybin-study-for-depression/ [Accessed 17 June 2020].