neurons on acid filtered  neurons on acid filtered

Neurone auf Acid

WIE PSYCHEDELIKA NEURONALE STRUKTUREN VERÄNDERN KÖNNEN, UM VERLOREN GEGLAUBTE SYNAPSEN WIEDERHERZUSTELLEN.

Übersetzt von Caroline Franzke, editiert von Marvin Däumichen

 

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: English English Português Português Français Français Italiano Italiano

Dr. Guilherme Gomes

Post-doctoral researcher

Dr. Guilherme Gomes is a post-doctoral researcher at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg, Germany.

View full profile ››

Editiert von Lucca Jaeckel & Clara Schüler

Unsere Arbeit beruht auf Spenden von Menschen wie Sie.
Wenn Sie unsere vision teilen und psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen möchten, sind wir dankbar für jeden Betrag, den Sie geben können.
   Spenden

Newsletter der MIND Foundation

Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an und wir halten Sie über alles, was mit der MIND Foundation zu tun hat, auf dem Laufenden.

    Related Content

    The latest posts connected to:
    Neuroscience
      179395884
    • Essay
    • 10 minutes
    • Juli 1, 2020
    • Biowissenschaften
    • Neurowissenschaften
    Teilen:

    Disclaimer: Dieser Blogpost wurde von Volontären übersetzt und editiert. Die Mitwirkenden repräsentieren nicht die MIND Foundation. Wenn Ihnen Fehler oder Unklarheiten auffallen, lassen Sie es uns bitte wissen – wir sind für jede Verbesserung dankbar (mailto:[email protected]). Wenn Sie unser Projekt zur Mehrsprachigkeit unterstützen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte um der MIND Blog Translation Group beizutreten!

    PSYCHOPLASTOGENE KÖNNTEN ALS NEUE MEDIKAMENTENKLASSE EINE NEUE ÄRA IN DER BEHANDLUNG VON DEPRESSIONEN  EINLÄUTEN

     

    Durch weltweit etwa 350 Millionen betroffene Menschen sind Depressionen zu einem Dauerthema der modernen Zeit geworden. Sie werden zu den am häufigsten vorkommenden psychischen Leiden gezählt und verursachen eine Reihe von Symptomen, beispielsweise anhaltende Traurigkeit, Gleichgültigkeit und Anhedonie sowie Schuldgefühle oder einen geringen Selbstwert. Die Folgen schwerer Depressionen erhöhen für Menschen aus verschiedensten Gründen das Sterberisiko und können zum Suizid führen. Die 2017er Global-Disease-Burden-Studie der World Health Organisation (WHO) prognostizierte, dass Depressionen im Jahr 2020 auf dem zweiten Platz liegen würden.1 Die medizinische Forschung steht derzeit vor zwei zentralen Problemen, um den damit verbundenen gesellschaftlichen Schäden entgegenzuwirken. Zum einen sind die neurobiologischen Mechanismen depressiver Zustände noch immer nicht vollständig aufgeklärt, zum anderen sind die derzeit verfügbaren Behandlungen entweder unwirksam oder nur teilweise effektiv.2

    Selektive Serotonin-Wiederaufnahmehemmer (SSRIs) sind die am häufigsten verschriebenen Antidepressiva, wobei nur 56% bis 60% der Betroffenen auf die Medikation ansprechen.3 Die Wirkung der Medikamente setzt erst etwa zwei bis vier Wochen nach Einnahmebeginn ein, wobei oft über Nebenwirkungen wie Mundtrockenheit, Gewichtszunahme, Kopfschmerzen und Verlust der Libido berichtet wird.4 Der Mangel an wirksamen Therapieansätzen ist mitunter darauf zurückzuführen, dass selbst nach jahrzehntelanger Forschung noch immer kein einheitliches Bild über die Ursachen und zugrundeliegenden neurobiologischen Mechanismen von  Depressionen existiert.

    Belastungen durch chronischen Stress begünstigen die Entwicklung von Depressionen. Diese wichtige Erkenntnis der Grundlagenforschung könnte weitere Untersuchungen zu wirksamen Therapieansätzen vorantreiben.5,6 Obwohl es sich schwierig gestaltet, präklinische Befunde auf den Menschen zu generalisieren, können Tier- und Laborexperimente mögliche Auswirkungen von Stress auf das Gehirn und  auf individuelle Neurone erklären. Derartige Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass die strukturelle Plastizität – die Eigenschaft von Neuronen bei Stimulierung ihre Gestalt zu ändern – durch Stress stark beeinflusst wird. Bei den meisten Neuronen reduziert Stress die Anzahl der dendritischen Verzweigungsendpunkte (dentritic spines, auch Dornen genannt). An diesen Verbindungsstellen stehen Neurone in Verbindung und kommunizieren miteinander (siehe Abbildung 1).

    Noch komplexer wird die Problematik durch die Beobachtung, dass Stress das Gehirn in einer regionsspezifischen Weise Beeinflusst.7,8 In der Amygdala, einem wichtigen Zentrum der Verarbeitung von Emotionen, führt Stress bedingt durch die Zunahme von Synapsen, zu einer erhöhten Komplexität der neuronalen Morphologie.9 In anderen Hirnregionen wie dem Hippocampus und dem präfrontalen Kortex (prefrontal cortex, PFC) – wichtigen kortikalen Zentren für die Entscheidungsfindung und Verarbeitung deklarativer Gedächtnisinhalte – reduziert Stress die morphologische Komplexität hingegen. Die synaptischen Kontakte nehmen ab, ein Phänomen, das auch als “synaptic stripping6 bekannt ist.

    Angesichts der bescheidenen Erfolge momentan verfügbarer Therapien der Depression rückt die Medizin und Wissenschaft wieder vermehrt psychedelische Substanzen in den Fokus laufender Forschung. Diese wecken derzeit große Hoffnung auf eine neue Ära möglicher Behandlungsansätze psychiatrischer Erkrankungen. In einer wegweisenden klinischen Studie wurde gezeigt, dass durch Psilocybin Depressionen und die damit verbundenen Symptome für mindestens zwei Monate deutlich seltener auftraten.11. Bemerkenswert ist, dass in der Studie auch behandlungsresistente Depressionen eingeschlossen wurden. Darüber hinaus zeigte sich nach der Einnahme von Ketamin eine fast sofortige Besserung der depressiven Symptome. Ketamin wurde im Jahr 2018 von der US Food and Drug Administration als “Breakthrough Therapy” der Depression eingestuft.

    Es sei noch einmal daran erinnert, dass Stress die Morphologie von Neuronen verändert. – Haben Psychedelika das Potenzial solche stressinduzierten Veränderungen rückgängig zu machen und hängt das möglicherweise mit ihrer therapeutischen Wirkung zusammen? David Olsons Forschungsteam der University of California ging dieser Frage durch eine Untersuchung der Wirkung psychedelischer Verbindungen auf die  Morphologie bestimmter Neurone nach. Hier wurden Morphologie, Dendritenlänge und Verzweigungsgrade sowie die Anzahl dendritischer spines ausgewertet. Dendriten sind zelluläre “Äste”, die ähnlich zu Baumverästelungen die Reichweite eines bestimmten Neurons erweitern und damit seine Konnektivität erhöhen (siehe Abbildung 1). Die Arbeiten von Olson und seinem Team zeigten, dass verschiedene psychedelische Verbindungen – unabhängig von ihrer chemischen Klasse – Eigenschaften besitzen, die dazu beitragen, dass mehr synaptische Kontakte hergestellt werden. Damit wurden die Psychoplastogene als neue Substanzklasse etabliert.12

    Psychoplastogene

    Der Begriff “Psychoplastogene” bezieht sich also auf Verbindungen, die es vermögen, die Morphologie von Neuronen zu verändern bzw.  die neuronale Plastizität zu erhöhen. In der Studie von Olson et al.12 wurdeuntersucht, inwieweit psychedelische Verbindungen aus verschiedenen chemischen Klassen –  mit entsprechend unterschiedlichen pharmakologischen Zielen – morphologische Veränderungen in Neuronen hervorrufen und damit deren Kontaktmöglichkeiten beeinflussen. Die Gruppe arbeitete mit einem in-vitro Ansatz. Sie produzierten aus Rattengehirnen primäre neuronale Zellkulturen und inkubierten diese mit unterschiedlich konzentrierten psychedelischen Verbindungen. Sie konnten zeigen, dass LSD-25, MDMA, DMT, Ketamin, Psilocin (die aktive Form von Psilocybin) und andere psychedelische Verbindungen strukturelle Veränderungen induzieren können, die sowohl die Menge synaptischer Kontakte sowie die Anzahl und Länge dendritischer Verzweigungen in Neuronen erhöhen. Basierend auf diesen in-vitro Ergebnissen testeten die Forscher, inwieweit solche morphologischen Veränderungen auch durch in-vivo (im lebenden Organismus) injiziertes DMT auftreten können. Ähnlich zu den in-vitro Daten fanden die Forscher heraus, dass injiziertes DMT im PFC der Ratte eine Zunahme dentritischer spines auslöste. Dieser Effekt ging mit veränderter neuronaler Aktivität einher. Dies konnte mittels elektrophysiologischer Aufnahmen von Gehirnschnitten  der Ratten, die zuvor DMT erhalten hatten, demonstriert werden.

    Überraschend an dieser Studie ist, dass alle getesteten Psychedelika ähnliche Effekte zeigen, obwohl sie unterschiedliche Klassen von Rezeptoren ansteuern. Die Forscher untersuchten weiterhin, welche zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen diese psychoplastogenen Effekte fördern. Es ist bekannt, dass bestimmte Moleküle als Wachstumsfaktoren fungieren und auch Veränderungen in der neuronalen Morphologie induzieren können. Von diesen “brain factors” wurde bisher BDNF (brain-derived neurotrophic factor) am häufigsten untersucht. Er gehört zu der Familie der Neurotrophine und spielt für neuronales Überleben, Wachstum und die Differenzierung neuer Neurone und Synapsen eine essentielle Rolle. BDNF kommt sehr häufig in kortikalen Bereichen vor, die vorallem mit höheren kognitiven Prozessen und dem Lernen assoziiert sind, beispielsweise im Hippocampus.13 Interessanterweise kann sportliche Bewegung die BDNF-Produktion anregen und umgekehrt kann Stress sie stören.14,15 In der Studie konnte gezeigt werden, dass die psychoplastogenen Effekte von LSD, DMT und MDMA vollständig ausblieben, nachdem BNDF durch die Blockade der TrkB Rezeptoren in der Signalübertragung gehemmt wurde. Dieser Befund legt nahe, dass Aktivierung der BDNF-Signalübertragung einen gemeinsamen zugrundeliegenden Mechanismus in der Wirkung verschiedener psychedelischer Verbindungen auf die strukturelle Plastizität darstellen könnte.

    Diese Ergebnisse sind überzeugend, aber eine Frage blieb ungeklärt: Würden dieselben psychoplastogenen Effekte auch bei  Tieren auftreten, die Stress ausgesetzt wurden? Diese Frage beleuchtete eine Studie von Moda-Save und Kollegen.16 Die Autoren verwendeten ein Standardprotokoll chronischer Stressexposition,  welches depressions-ähnliches Verhalten bei Mäusen auslöst und mit der Reduktion dendritischer spines im PFC einhergeht. Mit Hilfe der Zwei-Photonen-Fluoreszenzmikroskopie konnte per live cell imaging eine Untergruppe von dendritischen spines im PFC verfolgt werden. Es zeigte sich, dass einige von ihnen nach chronischem Stress verschwunden waren. Interessanterweise führte eine einzige antidepressiv wirkende Dosis von Ketamin dazu, dass die durch den chronischen Stress “verloren geglaubten” spines wiederhergestellt wurden. Darüber hinaus konnten die Forscher zeigen, dass eine Ketamin-induzierte Wiederherstellung dendritischer spines entscheidend für die Verhaltenseffekte der Medikation waren. Die Behandlung mit Ketamin erneuert also verlorene spines und normalisiert die Aktivität der Mikroschaltkreise im PFC bei Mäusen, was zur Remission von depressions-ähnlichem Verhalten führt. Abbildung 1 zeigt eine graphische Darstellung der wichtigsten Resultate aus den beiden Studien.12,16

    Die diskutierten Ergebnisse werfen weitere Fragen auf: Ist die Wirkung von Ketamin regionsspezifisch? Falls dem so sein sollte, verstärkt Ketamin auch die morphologische Plastizität in Gehirnregionen wie dem Hippocampus und der Amygdala? Angesichts der Tatsache, dass auch bei anderen psychedelische Verbindungen wie Psilocybin und MDMA eine schnelle positive Wirkung bei Depressionen eintritt, fördern diese ebenfalls eine Wiederherstellung von durch chronischen Stress verloren geglaubten dendritischen spines?

    Abbildung 1: Eine kurze Erklärung der relevanten neuroanatomischen Strukturen. Graphische Zusammenfassung wesentlicher Ergebnisse aus den Studien A) Ly et al.12 und B) Moda-Sava et al.16 – adaptiert nach Beyeler.17

     

    Könnte strukturelle Plastizität die psychedelische Erfahrung begleiten?

    Die diskutierten Studien legen eine weitere Frage nahe: Werden psychedelische Erfahrungen von struktureller Plastizität begleitet? Bislang bieten keine der eingesetzten bildgebende Verfahren (Neuroimaging) der Gehirnforschung eine ausreichende Auflösung um humane dendritische spines zu erfassen. Nichtsdestotrotz haben mehrere Studien die Wirkung psychedelischer Substanzen mittels verschiedener Neuroimaging Techniken untersucht. Die vielversprechenden Forschungsergebnisse von Carhart-Harris und Kollegen aus dem Jahr 201618 zeigten, dass LSD den Blutfluss im Gehirn beeinflusst, die elektrische Aktivität und die Netzwerkkommunikation verändert, was gleichzeitig mit der subjektiven Wahrnehmung der psychedelischen Erfahrung korreliert. Das wirft die Frage auf, ob auch neuronale Plastizität zeitlich mit psychedelischen Erfahrungen korreliert. Damit verbunden ist die Frage, ob die neuronale Plastizität auch für die langfristigen Effekte verantwortlich ist, die  auf  eine solche Erfahrung folgen. Diese langfristigen Effekte werden auch als “Afterglow-Effekt” bezeichnet.

    Die Grundlagenforschung des psychoplastogenen Effekts trägt maßgeblich zu unserem Verständnis des Gehirns und derWirkung verschiedener Psychedelika auf neuronale Strukturen bei. Ly et al.12 veröffentlichten die erste systematische Studie, welche die Wirkung von Psychedelika verschiedener chemischer Klassen auf das Wachstum von Dendriten und dendritischer spines aufzeigte. Moda-Sava et al.16 konnten zeigen, dass die Ketamin-induzierte Wiederherstellung dendritischer spines im PFC der Maus eine wesentliche Rolle für die Langzeitwirkung des Medikamentes spielt. Während die psychedelische Renaissance voranschreitet und das generelle Interesse sowie die Fördermittel stark zugenommen haben,19 können hoffentlich einige der hier beschriebenen wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen durch weitere bildgebende Verfahren und effiziente Analysealgorithmen angegangen werden. Mithilfe innovativer  Technologien wird die Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft weiterführende Erkenntnisse über Psychedelika-induzierte molekulare Mechanismen gewinnen können. Durch die Kombination gentechnischer und neurowissenschaftlicher Methoden wird es wesentlich einfacher zu verstehen, wie Psychedelika die neuronale Morphologie und die synaptische Konnektivität beeinflussen, und was dieser Einfluss letzendlich für die generelle Gehirnaktivität bedeutet. Derartige Forschung wird mit Sicherheit zu der Aufklärung beitragen, wie genau psychedelische Substanzen ihr therapeutisches Potenzial entfalten. Dies wird nicht nur der Suche nach neuen Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für psychiatrische Störungen zugutekommen, sondern auch dem tieferem Verständnis der neurobiologischen Grundlagen des Bewusstseins und dem Selbst.

    Unsere Arbeit bei MIND ist auf Spenden von Menschen wie Ihnen angewiesen.

    Wenn Sie unsere Vision teilen und psychedelische Forschung und Bildung unterstützen wollen, sind wir für jeden Betrag dankbar, den Sie geben können.

    Quellen:

    1. GBD 2017 Disease and Injury Incidence and Prevalence (2018). Global, regional, and national incidence, prevalence, and years lived with disability for 354 diseases and injuries for 195 countries and territories, 1990-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. The Lancet, 392(10159):1789-1858

    2. Frazer, A., & Benmansour, S. (2002). Delayed pharmacological effects of antidepressants. Molecular Psychiatry, 7, s23-s28.

    3. Arroll, B., Macgillivray, S., Ogston, S., Reid I., Sullivan, F., Williams, B., Crombie I. (2005). Efficacy and tolerability of tricyclic antidepressants and SSRIs compared with placebo for treatment of depression in primary care: A meta-analysis. Annals of Family Medicine, 3(5): 449 – 456.

    4. Joshi A. (2018). Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors: an overview. Psychiatria Danubia, 30(7):605-609.

    5. McEwen, B. S., Eiland, L., Hunter, R. G., Miller, M. M. (2012). Stress and anxiety: Structural plasticity and epigenetic regulation as a consequence of stress. Neuropharmacology, 62(1):3-12.

    6. Radley, J. J., Morrison, J. H. (2005). Repeated stress and structural plasticity in the brain. Ageing Research reviews, 4(2):271-287.

    7. Patel, D., Anilkumar, S., Chattarji, S., Buwalda, B. (2018). Repeated social stress leads to contrasting patterns of structural plasticity in the amygdala and hippocampus. Behavioural Brain Research, 347:314-324.

    8. Christoffel, D. J., Golden, S. A., Russo, S. J. (2011). Structural and synaptic plasticity in stress-related disorders. Rev. Neurosci. 22:535 – 549.

    9. Lau, T., Bigio, B., Zelli D., McEwen, B. S., Nasca, C. (2017). Stress-induced structural plasticity of medial amygdala stellate neurons and rapid prevention by a candidate antidepressant. Molecular Psychiatry, 22: 227 -234.

    10. Mithoefer, M. C., Wagner, M. T., Mithoefer, A. T., Jerome, L., Doblin, R. (2011) The safety and efficacy of MDMA-assisted psychotherapy in subjects with chronic, treatment-resistant posttraumatic stress disorder: the first randomized controlled pilot study. Journal of Psychopharmacology, 25(4):439 – 452.

    11. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Bolstridge, M., Rucker, J., Day, C. M., Erritzoe, D., Kaelen, M., Bloomfield, M., Rickard, J. A., Forbes, B., Feilding, A., Taylor, D., Pilling, S., Curran, V. H., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry, 3(7):619 – 627.

    12. Ly, C., Greb, A. C., Cameron, L. P., Wong J. M., Barragan, E. V., Wilson, P. C., Burbach, K. F., Soltanzadeh Zarandi, S., Sood, A., Paddy, M. R., Duim, W. C., Dennis M. Y., McAllister, A. K., Ori-McKenney, K. M., Gray, J. A., Olson, D. E. (2018). Psychedelics promote structural and functional neural plasticity. Cell Reports, 23(11):3170 – 3182.

    13. Lu, B., Nagappan, G., Lu, Y. (2014). BDNF and synaptic plasticity, cognitive function, and dysfunction. Neurotrophic Factors book chapter, Handbook of experimental pharmacology, 220: 223 – 250.

    14. Phillips, C. (2017). Brain-derived neurotrophic factor, depression, and physical activity: Making the neuroplastic connection. Neural Plasticity, 2017:7260130.

    15. Martinowich, K., Manji, H., Lu, B. (2007). New insights into BDNF function in depression and anxiety. Nature Neuroscience, 10: 1089 – 1093.

    16. Moda-Sava, R. N., Murdock, M. H., Parek, P. K., Fetcho, R. N., Huang, B. S., Huynh, T. N., Witztum, J., Shaver, D. C., Rosenthal D. L., Alway, E. J., Lopez, K., Meng, Y., Nellissen, L., Grosenick, L., Milner, T. A., Deisseroth, K., Bito, H., Kasai, H., Liston, C. (2019). Sustained rescue of prefrontal circuit dysfunction by antidepressant-induced spine formation. Science, 364(6436). pii:eaat8078.

    17. Beyeler, A. (2019). Do antidepressants restore last synapses? Science, 364(6436):129 – 130.

    18. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Muthukumaraswamy, S., Roseman, L., Kaelen, M., Droog, W., Murphy, K., Tagliazucchi, E., Schenberg, E. E., Nest, T., Orban, C., Leech, R., Williams L. T., Williams, T. M., Bolstridge, M., Sessa, B., McGonigle, J., Sereno, M. I., Nichols, D., Hellyer, P. J., Hobden, P., Evans J., Singh K. D., Wise, R. G., Curran, H. V., Feilding A., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Neural correlates of the LSD experience revealed by multimodal neuroimaging. PNAS, 113(17):4853 – 4858.

    19. Gründer, G., 2020. German Government Funds Psilocybin Study for Depression. [Blog] Available at: https://www.mind-and-brain.institute/psychedelics/german-government-funds-psilocybin-study-for-depression/ [Accessed 17 June 2020].

newron  newron

Neurons on Acid

How psychedelics can alter neuronal structure to restore lost synapses

  • Blog
  • Science
  • Essay
  • 10 minutes
July 1, 2020
Share

Dr. Guilherme Gomes is a post-doctoral researcher at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg, Germany. He holds a PhD and a Master of Science in Biochemistry from the University of Santa Maria, Brazil. His main focus of research is synapse biology, how experiences can alter the neuron’s structure and molecular content, and how these feed back to behavior. He is also a member of the Center for Behavioral Brain Sciences, Otto von Guericke University, Magdeburg, Germany. You can contact Guilherme via email or LinkedIn.

Edited by
Clara Schüler
Lucca Jaeckel

Published July 2020

Header photo by Kushagra Kevat on Unsplash

 Guilherme_picture

A new class of drugs, the psychoplastogens, may herald a new era in depression treatment.

 

Depression is a staple of modern times, with approximately 350 million people of all ages suffering from the disease worldwide. It is the most common mental health condition, causing a range of symptoms including prolonged sadness, apathy and anhedonia, and feelings of guilt or low self-worth. Severe depression can even cause suicide, and it increases people’s risk of death from other causes too. According to the World Health Organization, depression will rank second in global disease burden in 20201. In fighting the high societal costs associated with it, medical research on depression is currently facing two key challenges: We still do not fully understand the neurobiological mechanisms underlying depression, and many of the available treatments are either ineffective or only partially effective2.

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) are the most prescribed class of antidepressant. However, only 56% to 60% of patients respond to this type of therapy at all3. Moreover, these drugs only begin to work after about two to four weeks, and many patients report side effects like dry mouth, weight gain, headaches, and loss of sexual desire4. The lack of effective therapies for depression is also due to the fact that even after decades of research, there is still no consensus on what causes it and which neurobiological mechanisms are affected.

Still, one important insight from basic research has been that exposure to chronic stress is associated with developing depression. This has driven more research for effective therapies5,6. While recognizing of the difficulties in generalizing preclinical findings to humans, animal and laboratory experiments can illuminate how stress impacts the brain and individual neurons. Such research has shown that exposure to stress can profoundly affect structural plasticity, which is the capacity of neurons to alter their shape when stimulated. In most neurons, stress exposure reduces the number of dendritic spines, the main places where neurons connect and communicate (see Figure 1).

The problem increases in complexity with the observation that stress impacts the brain in a region-specific manner7,8. In the amygdala, an important center for emotional processing, stress leads to increased complexity of neuronal morphology, due to an increase in the number of synapses9. But in other brain regions like the hippocampus and the pre-frontal cortex— important centers for decision-making and processing declarative memories —, stress reduces complexity. Synaptic contacts decrease, a phenomenon known as “synaptic stripping”6.

Cornered by the limited success of currently available treatments for depression, medical and scientific communities are now reaching out to psychedelic compounds, hoping they herald a new era in the treatment of psychiatric diseases. In a pioneering clinical trial, psilocybin has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression for at least two months11. Remarkably, these studies involved patients with treatment-resistant depression. Moreover, ketamine, improves symptoms almost immediately and received approval from the US Food and Drug Administration in 2018, designating it as a “breakthrough therapy” for depression.

Recall that stress induces changes in neural morphology. Could psychedelic compounds have the capacity to reverse such changes, and might this be linked with their therapeutic effects? Recently, a study from the lab of David Olson at the University of California, Davis, tackled this question by investigating the effect of psychedelic compounds on neuronal morphology. They investigated changes in dendritic length and branching, as well as spine number and morphology. Like tree branches, dendrites are cellular “branches” that increase the reach of a given neuron and, thereby, its connectivity (see Figure 1). According to Olson’s work, psychedelic compounds from distinct classes have the property to increase the number of synaptic contacts, inaugurating a new substance classification: the psychoplastogens12.

Psychoplastogens

The term “psychoplastogen” refers to compounds that have the capacity to alter the morphology of neurons, also referred to as enhancing neuronal plasticity. In the study from David Olson’s lab12, the authors asked whether psychedelic compounds from different classes (and therefore with distinct pharmacological targets) can alter the morphology of neurons, therefore altering the probability of contact between neurons. The group used in-vitro methods, meaning they took living neuronal cell cultures from rat brains and incubated them with different concentrations of psychedelic compounds. They showed that LSD-25, MDMA, DMT, ketamine, psilocin (the active form of psilocybin), and other psychedelic compounds could induce changes in the number of synaptic contacts, as well as in the structure of neurons, by increasing the number and length of their dendritic branches. Moreover, based on the results obtained from the in-vitro experiments, the authors tested whether DMT could also induce alterations of neuronal morphology when injected into a living animal. Similar to the in-vitro data, they found that injected DMT also promoted an increase in the number of spines in the rat prefrontal cortex. This effect was accompanied by changes in neuronal activity, demonstrated by electrophysiological recordings of brain slices from rats that received DMT.

What is so surprising about this study is that all the tested psychedelic compounds displayed similar psychoplastogenic effects, despite targeting different classes of receptors. Naturally, the research group went on to investigate the underlying mechanisms promoting these psychoplastogenic effects. It is well known that certain messenger molecules, so-called ‘brain factors’, can induce changes in neuronal morphology. Of these, brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) is one of the most studied. BDNF is a member of the neurotrophin family of growth factors, playing a key role in neuronal survival, growth, and the differentiation of new neurons and synapses. It is abundant in brain regions involved in learning and higher cognition, such as the hippocampus and different cortical areas13. Interestingly, exercise can induce BDNF production and, conversely, stress can disrupt it14,15. In the present study, the authors found that inhibiting BDNF function through blocking the TrkB receptors to which it binds completely abolished the psychoplastogenic effects of compounds like LSD, DMT, and MDMA. This suggests that BDNF signaling might be a common mechanism underlying the effects of different psychedelic compounds on structural plasticity.

These results are compelling, but one question remained: would the same psychoplastogenic effect occur when psychedelic compounds are given to animals subjected to stress? Recently, a further study has shed light on this question16. The authors used a chronic stress exposure protocol, which is known to induce depressive-like behavior accompanied by a reduction of dendritic spines in neurons of the prefrontal cortex. Employing two-photon imaging, they tracked the fate of a subset of dendritic spines in the prefrontal cortex and showed that some of them disappeared after chronic stress. Interestingly, a single antidepressant dose of ketamine was able to rescue the spines that were lost due to chronic stress. Moreover, the authors went on to show that the ketamine-induced restoration of lost spines is, in fact, crucial for the behavioral effects of the drug. Overall, ketamine treatment restores lost spines and normalizes microcircuit activity in the prefrontal cortex, leading to the remission of depression-like behavior in mice. Figure 1 provides a graphical representation of the main findings from both studies12,16.

The results discussed above warrant further questions: Is the effect of ketamine region-specific? If yes, does ketamine also enhance structural plasticity in brain regions like the hippocampus and the amygdala? And given that other psychedelic compounds, such as psilocybin and MDMA, also quickly improve depression, can they also rescue dendritic spines that were lost due to chronic stress?

Figure 1: A brief explanation of relevant cellular neuroanatomical structures. Graphical representation of the major findings from A) Ly and coworkers12 and B) Moda-Sava and coworkers16 – adapted from Beyeler17.

 

Could structural plasticity accompany the psychedelic experience?

The studies discussed above suggest another question: Could structural plasticity accompany the psychedelic experience? To date, neuroimaging methods employed in human brain research do not confer enough resolution for visualizing dendritic spines. Nevertheless, several studies have looked at the effect of psychedelic substances on the brain using a variety of neuroimaging methods. From the seminal work of Carhart-Harris and coworkers in 201618, we have learned that LSD alters brain blood flow, electrical activity, and network communication and that this correlates with its subjective effects. This raises the question of whether structural plasticity could occur in a timeframe that correlates with the psychedelic experience. A related question is whether it is responsible for the long-term effects of such an experience, sometimes called the “afterglow effect.”

Basic research on the psychoplastogenic effects of psychedelic drugs contributes greatly to our understanding of their effects on the brain. Ly et al.12 published the first study to systematically show the effects of different chemical classes of psychedelics on the growth of both dendrites and dendritic spines, and Moda-Sava et al.16 were able to show that the ketamine-induced restoration of dendritic spines in neurons of the prefrontal cortex is essential for its long-term effects in mice. As the psychedelic renaissance evolves and interest and funding increase19, some of the key questions outlined above will hopefully be addressed using more powerful neuroimaging techniques and analysis algorithms. The research community will also be able to produce important insights into the molecular mechanisms of psychedelics using a wide range of new technologies. By combining genetic engineering and neuroscience, they will be able to better understand how psychedelics impact neuronal morphology and synaptic connectivity, and therefore overall brain activity. Such research will surely also lead to insights on how these substances bring about their therapeutic effects. This will benefit not only the quest for new treatments for psychiatric disorders, but also the understanding of the neurobiological basis of consciousness and self.

If you like this kind of content and want to see more of it,
make a donation!

More MIND Articles

View More
References

1. GBD 2017 Disease and Injury Incidence and Prevalence (2018). Global, regional, and national incidence, prevalence, and years lived with disability for 354 diseases and injuries for 195 countries and territories, 1990-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. The Lancet, 392(10159):1789-1858

2. Frazer, A., & Benmansour, S. (2002). Delayed pharmacological effects of antidepressants. Molecular Psychiatry, 7, s23-s28.

3. Arroll, B., Macgillivray, S., Ogston, S., Reid I., Sullivan, F., Williams, B., Crombie I. (2005). Efficacy and tolerability of tricyclic antidepressants and SSRIs compared with placebo for treatment of depression in primary care: A meta-analysis. Annals of Family Medicine, 3(5): 449 – 456.

4. Joshi A. (2018). Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors: an overview. Psychiatria Danubia, 30(7):605-609.

5. McEwen, B. S., Eiland, L., Hunter, R. G., Miller, M. M. (2012). Stress and anxiety: Structural plasticity and epigenetic regulation as a consequence of stress. Neuropharmacology, 62(1):3-12.

6. Radley, J. J., Morrison, J. H. (2005). Repeated stress and structural plasticity in the brain. Ageing Research reviews, 4(2):271-287.

7. Patel, D., Anilkumar, S., Chattarji, S., Buwalda, B. (2018). Repeated social stress leads to contrasting patterns of structural plasticity in the amygdala and hippocampus. Behavioural Brain Research, 347:314-324.

8. Christoffel, D. J., Golden, S. A., Russo, S. J. (2011). Structural and synaptic plasticity in stress-related disorders. Rev. Neurosci. 22:535 – 549.

9. Lau, T., Bigio, B., Zelli D., McEwen, B. S., Nasca, C. (2017). Stress-induced structural plasticity of medial amygdala stellate neurons and rapid prevention by a candidate antidepressant. Molecular Psychiatry, 22: 227 -234.

10. Mithoefer, M. C., Wagner, M. T., Mithoefer, A. T., Jerome, L., Doblin, R. (2011) The safety and efficacy of MDMA-assisted psychotherapy in subjects with chronic, treatment-resistant posttraumatic stress disorder: the first randomized controlled pilot study. Journal of Psychopharmacology, 25(4):439 – 452.

11. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Bolstridge, M., Rucker, J., Day, C. M., Erritzoe, D., Kaelen, M., Bloomfield, M., Rickard, J. A., Forbes, B., Feilding, A., Taylor, D., Pilling, S., Curran, V. H., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry, 3(7):619 – 627.

12. Ly, C., Greb, A. C., Cameron, L. P., Wong J. M., Barragan, E. V., Wilson, P. C., Burbach, K. F., Soltanzadeh Zarandi, S., Sood, A., Paddy, M. R., Duim, W. C., Dennis M. Y., McAllister, A. K., Ori-McKenney, K. M., Gray, J. A., Olson, D. E. (2018). Psychedelics promote structural and functional neural plasticity. Cell Reports, 23(11):3170 – 3182.

13. Lu, B., Nagappan, G., Lu, Y. (2014). BDNF and synaptic plasticity, cognitive function, and dysfunction. Neurotrophic Factors book chapter, Handbook of experimental pharmacology, 220: 223 – 250.

14. Phillips, C. (2017). Brain-derived neurotrophic factor, depression, and physical activity: Making the neuroplastic connection. Neural Plasticity, 2017:7260130.

15. Martinowich, K., Manji, H., Lu, B. (2007). New insights into BDNF function in depression and anxiety. Nature Neuroscience, 10: 1089 – 1093.

16. Moda-Sava, R. N., Murdock, M. H., Parek, P. K., Fetcho, R. N., Huang, B. S., Huynh, T. N., Witztum, J., Shaver, D. C., Rosenthal D. L., Alway, E. J., Lopez, K., Meng, Y., Nellissen, L., Grosenick, L., Milner, T. A., Deisseroth, K., Bito, H., Kasai, H., Liston, C. (2019). Sustained rescue of prefrontal circuit dysfunction by antidepressant-induced spine formation. Science, 364(6436). pii:eaat8078.

17. Beyeler, A. (2019). Do antidepressants restore last synapses? Science, 364(6436):129 – 130.

18. Carhart-Harris, R. L., Muthukumaraswamy, S., Roseman, L., Kaelen, M., Droog, W., Murphy, K., Tagliazucchi, E., Schenberg, E. E., Nest, T., Orban, C., Leech, R., Williams L. T., Williams, T. M., Bolstridge, M., Sessa, B., McGonigle, J., Sereno, M. I., Nichols, D., Hellyer, P. J., Hobden, P., Evans J., Singh K. D., Wise, R. G., Curran, H. V., Feilding A., Nutt, D. J. (2016). Neural correlates of the LSD experience revealed by multimodal neuroimaging. PNAS, 113(17):4853 – 4858.

19. Gründer, G., 2020. German Government Funds Psilocybin Study for Depression. [Blog] Available at: https://www.mind-and-brain.institute/psychedelics/german-government-funds-psilocybin-study-for-depression/ [Accessed 17 June 2020].