combining psychedelics and antidepressants filtered
Camile Bahi

MIND RKE Associate

Camile Bahi is a Neuroscience M.Sc. student at VU Amsterdam, Netherlands. He holds an M.Pharm (Industry field, research track) from Université de Franche-Comté, France.

View full profile ››
Our work at MIND relies on donations from people like you.
If you share our VISION and want to support psychedelic research and education, we are grateful for any amount you can give.
   Donate

Related Content

The latest posts connected to:
Biological Sciences
    612390489
  • Essay
  • 7 minutes
  • septembre 11, 2020
  • Biological Sciences
  • Biological Sciences
  • Drug Science
  • Drug Science
  • Neuroscience
  • Psychedelic Therapy
Share:

Disclaimer: la traduction de cet article a été rédigée et révisée par des bénévoles. Les contributeurs ne représentent pas la MIND Foundation. Si vous trouvez des erreurs ou des incohérences, ou si quelque chose dans la traduction ne semble pas clair, veuillez nous en informer – nous vous remercions pour toute amélioration. Si vous souhaitez aider avec vos compétences linguistiques, vous pouvez également utiliser le lien et rejoindre les traducteurs du blog!

Avant-propos : avant de modifier leur traitement antidépresseur, les patients devraient toujours consulter leur médecin généraliste ou leur psychiatre afin de prévenir tout risque de syndrome de sevrage et tout éventuelle rechute des symptômes dépressifs.

La plupart des essais cliniques portant sur les psychédéliques déterminaient la prise d’un traitement antidépresseur comme critère de non-inclusion, ou demandaient à leurs patients de réduire leur posologie avant de quitter leur traitement afin de pouvoir être enrôlés.

Face aux résultats prometteurs obtenus contre la dépression résistante aux traitements classiques en utilisant des psychédéliques,1,2 cet article cherche à faire l’état de l’art des connaissances concernant la question redondante de l’interaction entre antidépresseurs classiques et psychédéliques ainsi que des risques potentiels associés à celle-ci.

Les psychédéliques, au sens pharmacologique strict du terme, sont défini par leur propriété d’agonistes aux récepteurs sérotoninergiques, plus particulièrement aux récepteurs 5-HT2a.3,4 De manière cohérente, la plupart de leur effets subjectifs et biologiques sont abolis par des antagonistes des mêmes récepteurs tels que la Kétansérine.5,6 Les psychédéliques ont montré une sécurité d’usage encourageante lors des diverses études sur le sujet, avec comme effets secondaires notables, des maux des maux de tête d’intensité modérée, des élévations de la pression sanguine et une anxiété aigue, ne nécessitant aucune intervention medicale.2,7,8 Bien que le mécanisme d’action précis et la pharmacocinétique de ces substances ne soit pas totalement élucidés, deux problèmes potentiels ont été reportés concernant leur interactions avec les antidépresseurs : le syndrome sérotoninergique et une alteration des effets subjectifs des psychédéliques.

Le Syndrome Sérotoninergique :

Le syndrome sérotoninergique est un effet secondaire potentiellement létal qui survient le plus souvent lors de la prise concomitante de deux composés à même d’augmenter la neurotransmission sérotoninergique. Cependant, cette condition peut également survenir lors de la prise d’une unique molécule ayant ces propriétés.9 La sérotonine dérive de son acide aminé précurseur : le L-tryptophane et ses effets sont régulés par un ensemble de boucles de rétrocontrôle métabolique incluant des enzymes comme la monoamine oxydase. La sérotonine agit sur le système nerveux central et périphérique : au niveau central, elle joue un rôle dans l’humeur, l’attention, la vie sociale, le tonus musculaire, la régulation de la température corporelle et la perception consciente de la douleur. Le système sérotoninergique périphérique joue un rôle dans le tonus vasculaire, la nociception (transmission du message douloureux) et l’activité gastrique pour ne citer que quelques-unes de ses implications.10 Les effets de la sérotonine sont médiés par 7 types de récepteurs (numérotés de 5-HT1 a 5-HT7) et aux mois 14 sous-types.3

Le Syndrome sérotoninergique a été reporté dans tous les groupes d’âge et on estime qu’il survient chez 15 pour cent des patients ayant fait une overdose d’antidépresseurs. Cependant, Il est difficile de donner une estimation précise de l’incidence de ce toxidrome qui manque de spécificité et dont le personnel médical est peu au fait. 85 % en ignorent l’existence.11

La sévérité du syndrome sérotoninergique varie de modérée à très sévère et menaçant la vie. Une triade de symptômes a été établie pour l’identifier, comportant : des anomalies neuromusculaires (telles qu’une hypertonicité musculaire et des tremblements), une hyperactivité du système nerveux autonome (conduisant à une augmentation du rythme cardiaque et des diarrhées) et une altération de l’état de conscience (tels que des délires ou de l’agitation ; figure 1 pour plus de détails).9

Figure 1: Spectre des signes cliniques : Les Manifestations du syndrome sérotoninergique vont de moyennement sévères a menaçant la vie. Les flèches verticales indiquent approximativement le moment ou les symptômes apparaissent, bien qu’un même patient présente rarement toutes les caractéristiques du syndrome sérotoninergique. Les signes sévères peuvent masquer d’autres signes cliniques plus discrets. Par exemple, l’hypertonicité musculaire masquant les tremblements et l’hyperreflexie.9

La physiopathologie du syndrome sérotoninergique n’est que partiellement élucidée, mais il semble qu’il survienne lors d’un excès de neurotransmission sérotoninergique au cœur des synapses. Il ne semble pas qu’un récepteur spécifique en soit la cause mais il se pourrait que les récepteurs 5-HT2a jouent un rôle prépondérant dans ce toxidrome. D’autres récepteurs comme les récepteurs 5-HT1a, semblent jouer un rôle lorsque les concentrations de sérotonine atteignent un point ou tous les sous types de récepteurs seraient saturés (voir figure 2).11 D’autres neurotransmetteurs comme la noradrénaline pourraient participer de façon significative dans ce syndrome : par exemple. Une augmentation des concentrations centrales de noradrénaline est corrélée à une sévérité accrue des symptômes.11 La dopamine elle, pourrait jouer un rôle indirect car une augmentation de la neurotransmission Dopaminergique peut enclencher une décharge sérotoninergique.12–14Figure 2: Mécanismes du Syndrome Sérotoninergique: 1) des doses accrues de L-tryptophane vont accroitre de manière proportionnelle les taux de 5-hydroxytryptamine (5-HT ou sérotonine) nouvellement formée . 2) Les amphétamines et substances apparentées augmentent les taux de décharge du pool de réserve sérotoninergique. 3) l’inhibition du métabolisme de la sérotonine par les inhibiteur de la Monoamine oxidase (IMAO) augmentent les concentrations sérotoninergiques présynaptiques. 4) le bloquage du transport de la sérotonine dans le terminal présynaptique par des inhibiteurs de recapture augmentent les concentration de sérotonine au niveau de la synapse. 5) l’agonisme direct des récepteurs sérotoninergiques sont à même de stimuler les récepteurs 5-HT postsynaptiques. 6) Le Lithium accroît le taux de réponses postsynaptiques des récepteurs de la famille 5-HT. Diamant = substance bloquant la recapture de 5-HT ; cercles colorés = 5-HT; étoiles = agonistes 5-HT directs.11

Dans la plupart des pays, (comme c’est le cas en France) prescrire plus d’un médicament sérotoninergique à la fois constitue une contre-indication pour cette raison. Toute substance pouvant accroitre la neurotransmission sérotoninergique peut conduire à cette pathologie. La plupart des cas recensés concernent les Inhibiteurs Sélectif de la Recapture de la Sérotonine (ISRS) ou les inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase (IMAO) pris simultanément avec au moins une autre molécule augmentant la neurotransmission sérotoninergique et l’association de molécule de mécanisme d’action différent semble augmenter le risque de survenue du syndrome sérotoninergique.15

Table 1: Substances associées au syndrome sérotoninergique.9

La recherche sur ce syndrome souffre d’un manque de preuves et d’étude concernant l’interaction entre les psychédéliques et les antidépresseurs et il est impossible d’affirmer que leur association augmente significativement le risque de survenue d’un syndrome sérotoninergique. Toutefois les psychédéliques, via leur capacité d’agoniste aux récepteurs 5-HT2A, augmentent la neurotransmission sérotoninergique via ces récepteurs, de ce fait, d’un point de vue de leur pharmacologie fondamentale, il semble très probable que les associer aux antidépresseurs sérotoninergiques puisse induire un risque de syndrome sérotoninergique. Il semble donc dangereux d’associer les psychédéliques avec tout type de molécule augmentant la neurotransmission sérotoninergique.

De plus, il est important de remarquer que les psychédéliques tels que le LSD et la 5-Meo-DMT, sont métabolisés par les CYP2D6,16,17 une enzyme hépatique impliqué dans le métabolisme de nombreuses substances. Parallèlement à cela, Les ISRS sont a la fois substrats et inhibiteurs de cette même enzyme, Ce qui signifie que les CYP2D6 sont moins disponibles pour métaboliser à la fois les psychédéliques mais aussi les antidépresseurs, conduisant a une augmentation des concentrations de dérivés sérotoninergiques plasmatiques, associé avec l’induction de syndromes sérotoninergiques.11

Pour cette raison, il est vivement recommandé de se sevrer des antidépresseurs avec l’aide de son médecin avant de d’entreprendre tout traitement à base de substances psychédéliques ou tout usage de celles-ci. De plus, étant donné que des syndromes sérotoninergiques ont été reportés chez des patients prenant des substances sérotoninergiques 5 semaines après l’arrêt d’un traitement par ISRS,11 il parait raisonnable d’attendre au moins 5 semaines avant d’envisager l’administration d’une substance psychédélique.

Altération des effets perçus lors de l’expérience psychédélique

En plus du risque lié au syndrome sérotoninergique, la perception subjective des effets des psychédéliques pourraient être altérés lors de la prise concomitante d’antidépresseurs, tel que le montre quelques cas cliniques mettant en jeu des ISRS et antidépresseurs tricycliques. Concernant les antidépresseurs tricycliques, cette modulation des effets subjectifs pourrait être due à la sensibilisation des terminaux postsynaptiques et à une augmentation des niveaux de dopamine conduisant à une augmentation de la neurotransmission sérotoninergique.12,13

D’autre part, l’administration d’ISRS et d’inhibiteurs de la MAO semble engendrer une diminution des effets subjectifs des psychédéliques. Concernant les ISRS, cela pourrait être dû au fait que l’usage prolongé de ces molécules engendre une down-régulation des récepteurs 5-HT2A, conduisant à une sensibilité diminuée aux substances affectant ces récepteurs, comme c’est le cas des psychédéliques. En ce qui concerne les IMAO, leur administration chronique a montré qu’ils engendrent une désensibilisation des récepteurs sérotoninergiques, expliquant potentiellement la diminution des effets subjectifs observés dans ces conditions.19,20,21

Le mécanisme d’action sous-tendant la modulation de l’expérience subjective avec les psychédéliques n’est pour le moment pas élucidé et il est nécessaire de réaliser plus d’étude sur le sujet pour éclaircir cette question. De plus, le risque de syndrome sérotoninergique ne devrait pas être ignoré sous prétexte d’effets subjectifs moindres : il se pourrait que le rapport entre le nombre de récepteurs occupés par un agoniste sur le nombre total de récepteur joue un rôle dans la physiopathologie de ce syndrome. En effet ce rapport étant facilement augmenté lorsque le nombre de récepteurs 5-HT2A est réduit, comme c’est le cas avec la down régulation après un usage chronique d’ISRS. De plus, des variations inter-individuelles, telles que la présence de différents isoformes pour les enzymes se chargeant du métabolisme de ces substances, pourrait jouer un rôle important dans la survenue du syndrome sérotoninergique.22

Quelques idées pour conclure

En l’état des connaissances actuelles, il est impossible de déterminer la relation qui existe entre l’occurrence du syndrome sérotoninergique et la pharmacologie des psychédéliques. Les données qui sont à disposition à ce jour ne permettent pas d’évaluer les risques potentiels de façon précise ou d’établir un modèle de la modulation des effets subjectifs qui découle de l’association de médicaments antidépresseurs avec des substances psychédéliques.

Depuis la découverte du syndrome sérotoninergique, peu de progrès a pu être réalisé pour comprendre la physiopathologie de ce toxidrome. Cependant, la recherche actuelle sur les psychédéliques et leur mécanisme d’action pourraient aider à développer des connaissances permettant de donner de meilleures recommandations dans le cadre d’un futur usage clinique avec ce type de substances.

Un regard attentif sur les antidépresseurs classiques et les psychédéliques et la façon dont ils modulent la neurotransmission sérotoninergique laissent entrevoir des risques liés à leur usage simultané, et une potentielle synergie lors d’un usage simultané semble improbable, d’un point de vue du mécanisme d’action pharmacologique de ces substances. Pour ces raisons, une grande prudence est recommandée aux personnes envisageant d’utiliser une substance psychédélique alors qu’un traitement antidépresseur est en cours.

Notre travail chez MIND dépend des dons de la part de gens comme vous.

Si vous partagez notre vision et souhaitez soutenir la recherche sur les psychédéliques et l’éducation sur ce sujet, nous vous serions reconnaissant, peu importe le montant que vous pourriez donner.

References
  1. Carhart-Harris RL, Bolstridge M, Rucker J, Day CMJ, Erritzoe D, Kaelen M, et al. Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry. 2016 Jul 1;3(7):619–27.
  2. Bahi C. Psilocybin based therapy for cancer related distress, a systematic review and meta analysis. ArXiv191005176 Q-Bio [Internet]. 2019 Oct 10 [cited 2019 Oct 14]; Available from: http://arxiv.org/abs/1910.05176
  3. Carhart-Harris RL, Nutt DJ. Serotonin and brain function: a tale of two receptors. J Psychopharmacol Oxf Engl. 2017 Sep;31(9):1091.
  4. Vollenweider F, Kometer M. The Neurobiology of Psychedelic Drugs: Implications for the Treatment of Mood Disorders. Nat Rev Neurosci. 2010 Sep 1;11:642–51.
  5. Preller KH, Herdener M, Pokorny T, Planzer A, Kraehenmann R, Stämpfli P, et al. The Fabric of Meaning and Subjective Effects in LSD-Induced States Depend on Serotonin 2A Receptor Activation. Curr Biol. 2017 Feb;27(3):451–7.
  6. Ly C, Greb AC, Cameron LP, Wong JM, Barragan EV, Wilson PC, et al. Psychedelics Promote Structural and Functional Neural Plasticity. Cell Rep. 2018 Jun 12;23(11):3170–82.
  7. Griffiths RR, Johnson MW, Carducci MA, Umbricht A, Richards WA, Richards BD, et al. Psilocybin produces substantial and sustained decreases in depression and anxiety in patients with life-threatening cancer: A randomized double-blind trial. J Psychopharmacol (Oxf). 2016 Dec;30(12):1181–97.
  8. Ross S, Bossis A, Guss J, Agin-Liebes G, Malone T, Cohen B, et al. Rapid and sustained symptom reduction following psilocybin treatment for anxiety and depression in patients with life-threatening cancer: a randomized controlled trial. J Psychopharmacol (Oxf). 2016 Dec;30(12):1165–80.
  9. Sun-Edelstein C, Tepper SJ, Shapiro RE. Drug-induced serotonin syndrome: a review. Expert Opin Drug Saf. 2008 Sep;7(5):587–96.
  10. Arora B, Kannikeswaran N. The serotonin syndrome—the need for physician’s awareness. Int J Emerg Med. 2010 Dec;3(4):373–7.
  11. Birmes P, Coppin D, Schmitt L, Lauque D. Serotonin syndrome: a brief review. CMAJ. 2003;168(11):1439-1442.
  12. Monti JM, Jantos H. The roles of dopamine and serotonin, and of their receptors, in regulating sleep and waking. In: Di Giovann G, Di Matteo V, Esposito E, editors. Progress in Brain Research [Internet]. Elsevier; 2008 [cited 2020 Jul 3]. p. 625–46. (Serotonin–Dopamine Interaction: Experimental Evidence and Therapeutic Relevance; vol. 172). Available from: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0079612308009291
  13. Thorré K, Sarre S, Smolders I, Ebinger G, Michotte Y. Dopaminergic regulation of serotonin release in the substantia nigra of the freely moving rat using microdialysis. Brain Res. 1998 Jun 15;796(1–2):107–16.
  14. Mills KC. SEROTONIN SYNDROME: A Clinical Update. Crit Care Clin. 1997 Oct 1;13(4):763–83.
  15. Bijl D. The serotonin syndrome. Neth J Med. 2004 Oct;62(9):309–13.
  16. Luethi D, Hoener MC, Krähenbühl S, Liechti ME, Duthaler U. Cytochrome P450 enzymes contribute to the metabolism of LSD to nor-LSD and 2-oxo-3-hydroxy-LSD: Implications for clinical LSD use. Biochem Pharmacol. 2019;164:129–38.
  17. Shen H-W, Jiang X-L, Winter JC, Yu A-M. Psychedelic 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine: metabolism, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and pharmacological actions. Curr Drug Metab. 2010 Oct;11(8):659–66.
  18. Low Y, Setia S, Lima G. Drug&drug interactions involving antidepressants: focus on desvenlafaxine. Neuropsychiatr Dis Treat. 2018 Feb;Volume 14:567–80.
  19. Johnson MW, Richards WA, Griffiths RR. Human Hallucinogen Research: Guidelines for Safety. J Psychopharmacol Oxf Engl. 2008 Aug;22(6):603–20.
  20. Bonson K, Buckholtz JW, Murphy DL. Chronic Administration of Serotonergic Antidepressants Attenuates the Subjective Effects of LSD in Humans. Neuropsychopharmacology. 1996 Jun;14(6):425–36.
  21. Bonson KR, Murphy DL. Alterations in responses to LSD in humans associated with chronic administration of tricyclic antidepressants, monoamine oxidase inhibitors or lithium. Behav Brain Res. 1995 Dec;73(1–2):229–33.
  22. Kaneda Y, Kawamura I, Fujii A, Ohmori T. Serotonin syndrome — ‘potential’ role of the CYP2D6 genetic polymorphism in Asians. Int J Neuropsychopharmacol. 2002 Mar 1;5(1):105–6.

blog-treated_antidepressant and psychedelic interaction

Antidepressants and Psychedelics

What do we Know and What Could be the Risks?
  • Blog
  • Science
  • Essay
  • 7 minutes
September 11, 2020
Share
Photo by Anastasia Dulgier on Unsplash
Camile Bahi

Master's Student in Neuroscience, VU Amsterdam

Camile Bahi is a Neuroscience Msc student at VU Amsterdam, Netherlands. He holds an M.Pharm (Industry field, research track) from Université de Franche-Comté, France. His major focus of research is serotonin pharmacology and, in this, his specific interests are: brain plasticity in relation with psychological flexibility, and mental health conditions. Camile Bahi is also a Research and Knowledge Exchange Associate at MIND Foundation and Section Advisor for the Neuroscience Section of the Mind Members Association.

View full profile ››

Disclaimer:  Before altering their antidepressant medication schemes, patients should always consult with their general physician or psychiatrist in order to prevent withdrawal syndrome and eventual relapse.

Most of the recent clinical trials about psychedelics either asked participants to stop taking their antidepressant medication before enrolling in studies or rejected patients that were taking antidepressants. Similarly, some psychedelic retreat centers only allow participants who are not currently taking antidepressants.

As psychedelics have shown initial promise in treating hard-to-treat depression,1,2 an often-raised concern relates to the possible risks of the interaction between antidepressant drugs and psychedelics. This article aims to investigate this issue and provide some preliminary answers.

Classical psychedelics are defined by their ability to act as serotonin receptor agonists, particularly at the Serotonin 2A receptor (5HT2AR).3,4 Accordingly, many of the subjective and biological effects of classical psychedelics are blocked after administering 5HT2AR antagonists such as ketanserin.5,6 Classical psychedelics have been shown to be relatively safe in the context of clinical trials, with notable side effects being mild headaches, small elevations in blood pressure, and acute anxiety, none of which commonly require medical intervention.2,7,8 Although the exact mechanisms of action and the pharmacokinetics of these molecules are not completely understood, two particular issues have been raised when it comes to their interaction with antidepressant drugs: the so-called serotonin syndrome and a decrease in subjective psychedelic effects.

Serotonin Syndrome: Antidepressants and Psychedelics

Serotonin syndrome is a potentially lethal adverse drug reaction that is most likely to occur when two compounds able to raise serotonin neurotransmission are taken simultaneously. However, it is also known to occur after only one such compound.9 Serotonin is produced from the amino acid L-tryptophan and its effects are regulated by re-uptake mechanisms, feedback loops, and enzymes such as monoamine oxidase. Serotonin acts on the nervous system both at the central and at the peripheral level. In the central nervous system, it plays a role in awareness, behavior, muscle tone, body temperature, and pain. In the periphery, it regulates vascular tone, nociception (pain perception), and gastric activity.10 The effects of serotonin are mediated through 7 receptors types (from 5-HT1 to 5-HT7) and at least 14 subtypes.3

Serotonin syndrome has been reported in all age groups and is estimated to occur in approximately 15% of persons who overdose on SSRIs. Nevertheless, an accurate incidence rate of this syndrome is difficult to obtain because its symptoms lack specificity, and because of the lack of awareness concerning this condition among physicians. A survey found that 85% of physicians were unaware of the existence of this toxidrome.11

The severity of serotonin syndrome can vary from mild to life-threatening. Its symptoms are often described as a clinical triad: neuromuscular abnormalities (such as tremor or muscle hypertonicity leading to hyperthermia), autonomic nervous system hyperactivity (leading to increased heart rate and diarrhea), and changes in mental state (such as agitation or delirium; see figure 1 for an overview).9

Figure 1: Spectrum of clinical symptoms: Manifestations of the serotonin syndrome range from mild to life-threatening. The vertical arrows suggest the approximate point at which clinical findings initially appear in the spectrum of the disease, though not all characteristics always present themselves in a single patient with serotonin syndrome. Severe signs may mask other clinical findings. For example, muscular hypertonicity can overwhelm tremor and hyperreflexia.9

The precise pathophysiology of serotonin syndrome is not completely understood, but it appears to result from an excess in serotonin neurotransmission. It is not linked to a single serotonin receptor, even though it is suggested that 5-HT2A receptors substantially contribute to the condition. Other receptors, such as 5-HT1A, appear to also contribute to it when serotonin concentrations reach a point where all other receptor subtypes are saturated (see figure 2 for a visualization). 11 Other neurotransmitters, such as norepinephrine, may also play an important role in this syndrome: for example, an increase in CNS norepinephrine concentration during serotonin syndrome correlates with more severe symptoms.11 Dopamine could also be involved, since an increase in dopamine neurotransmission can indirectly trigger serotonin release.12–14Figure 2: Mechanisms of Serotonin Syndrome: 1) Increased doses of L-tryptophan will proportionally increase 5-hydroxytryptamine (5-HT or serotonin) formation. 2) Amphetamines and other drugs increase the release of stored serotonin. 3) Inhibition of serotonin metabolism by monoamine oxidase (MAO) inhibitors will increase presynaptic 5-HT concentration. 4) Impairment of 5-HT transport into the presynaptic nerve by uptake blockers increase synaptic 5-HT concentration. 5) Direct serotonin agonists can stimulate postsynaptic 5-HT receptors. 6) Lithium increases postsynaptic receptor responses. Diamond = drug-blocking 5-HT uptake; shaded circles = 5-HT; star = direct acting 5-HT agonist.11

In most countries, prescribing more than one serotonin medication at once is contraindicated, since this can lead to serotonin syndrome. As detailed in Table 1 below, every medication that increases serotonin neurotransmission can be involved in its pathogenesis. Most cases involve SSRI or monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) drugs, taken simultaneously with at least one other medication raising serotonin levels. Combining drugs that differentially increase serotonin neurotransmission is more likely to induce severe serotonin syndrome.15

Table 1: Drugs Associated with Serotonin Syndrome.9

There is no empirical data on the interaction between psychedelics and antidepressants, and whether this raises the risk of serotonin syndrome. Nevertheless, it is well-known that psychedelics have 5-HT2AR agonist properties, therefore increasing 5-HT2AR neurotransmission. Thus, from a pharmacological point of view, it seems likely that their co-administration with serotonergic antidepressants could induce serotonin syndrome. Accordingly, it could be dangerous to mix psychedelics with any type of medication that increases serotonergic neurotransmission.

Furthermore, it is important to note that several psychedelics, such as LSD and 5-Meo-DMT, are metabolized by CYP2D6,16,17 a liver enzyme that is involved in metabolizing many substances. At the same time, SSRIs are both a substrate and an inhibitor of this enzyme.18 This means that CYP2D6 is less available for metabolizing both psychedelics and SSRIs, resulting in an increase in blood concentrations of serotonergic substances, which is associated with the induction of serotonin syndrome.11

For this reason, it is recommended to taper antidepressant medication before engaging in any psychedelic therapy or usage. Moreover, since administration of serotonin agents within five weeks after the discontinuation of SSRIs has been shown to induce serotonin syndrome,11 it appears to be safer to wait for at least five weeks before using any psychedelic compound.

Antidepressant Drugs Blunting Subjective Psychedelic Effects

In addition to the risk of serotonin syndrome, the subjective effects of the psychedelic experience may be altered if psychedelics are combined with antidepressants. Anecdotal evidence suggests that the acute use of SSRIs, as well as chronic use of tricyclic antidepressants, can alter the subjective effects of psychedelics. Regarding tricyclic antidepressants, this observation could be related to postsynaptic receptor sensitization and increased dopamine levels, which indirectly lead to an increase in serotonin neurotransmission.12,13

Conversely, chronic administration of SSRIs or MAOIs have been shown to decrease the subjective effects of psychedelics. Concerning SSRIs, a possible reason for this could be that the chronic administration of SSRIs causes downregulation of 5-HT2AR receptors. This, in turn, may make someone less sensitive to substances affecting these receptors, such as psychedelics. Therefore, this decrease in subjective effects may result from 5-HT2AR downregulation. Concerning MAOIs, chronic administration has been shown to trigger serotonin receptor desensitization, which could explain the observed decrease in subjective psychedelic effects.19,20,21

The precise mechanisms underlying the modulation of the psychedelic experience by antidepressants are still unclear, and further research should be conducted in order to gain a better understanding. Moreover, the risk of serotonin syndrome cannot be ignored due to the observation of blunted subjective effects of psychedelics following 5-HT2AR down-regulation. Specifically, it might be the case that serotonin syndrome depends on the rate of occupied 5-HT receptors, whereby a higher rate of occupied receptors could be reached more easily when the global number of receptors is lowered. Moreover, several inter-individual variations, such as genetic variations in the enzymes responsible for drug metabolism, could also play a role in the occurrence of serotonin syndrome.22

Some Concluding Thoughts

It is impossible to state with certainty what the relationship is between serotonin syndrome and the pharmacology of psychedelics. Current knowledge is insufficient for formulating an accurate assessment of the risk, or a model of the modulation of both subjective and physiological effects arising from the combination of antidepressants and psychedelic substances.

There has not been much progress in elucidating the pathophysiology of serotonin syndrome in recent years. However, since we are gaining a clearer view of the pharmacology of psychedelics, we might develop more precise recommendations for clinical work in the future.

Nevertheless, a close look at the effects of common antidepressants and psychedelic drugs on serotonin neurotransmission suggests that this combination is risky from a pharmacological point of view, and that it would be very unlikely to have clinically beneficial effects. Consequently, it is advised to be careful when considering taking a psychedelic while being on antidepressant medication.

If you like this kind of content and want to see more of it, make a donation!

More MIND Articles

View More
References
  1. Carhart-Harris RL, Bolstridge M, Rucker J, Day CMJ, Erritzoe D, Kaelen M, et al. Psilocybin with psychological support for treatment-resistant depression: an open-label feasibility study. Lancet Psychiatry. 2016 Jul 1;3(7):619–27.
  2. Bahi C. Psilocybin based therapy for cancer related distress, a systematic review and meta analysis. ArXiv191005176 Q-Bio [Internet]. 2019 Oct 10 [cited 2019 Oct 14]; Available from: http://arxiv.org/abs/1910.05176
  3. Carhart-Harris RL, Nutt DJ. Serotonin and brain function: a tale of two receptors. J Psychopharmacol Oxf Engl. 2017 Sep;31(9):1091.
  4. Vollenweider F, Kometer M. The Neurobiology of Psychedelic Drugs: Implications for the Treatment of Mood Disorders. Nat Rev Neurosci. 2010 Sep 1;11:642–51.
  5. Preller KH, Herdener M, Pokorny T, Planzer A, Kraehenmann R, Stämpfli P, et al. The Fabric of Meaning and Subjective Effects in LSD-Induced States Depend on Serotonin 2A Receptor Activation. Curr Biol. 2017 Feb;27(3):451–7.
  6. Ly C, Greb AC, Cameron LP, Wong JM, Barragan EV, Wilson PC, et al. Psychedelics Promote Structural and Functional Neural Plasticity. Cell Rep. 2018 Jun 12;23(11):3170–82.
  7. Griffiths RR, Johnson MW, Carducci MA, Umbricht A, Richards WA, Richards BD, et al. Psilocybin produces substantial and sustained decreases in depression and anxiety in patients with life-threatening cancer: A randomized double-blind trial. J Psychopharmacol (Oxf). 2016 Dec;30(12):1181–97.
  8. Ross S, Bossis A, Guss J, Agin-Liebes G, Malone T, Cohen B, et al. Rapid and sustained symptom reduction following psilocybin treatment for anxiety and depression in patients with life-threatening cancer: a randomized controlled trial. J Psychopharmacol (Oxf). 2016 Dec;30(12):1165–80.
  9. Sun-Edelstein C, Tepper SJ, Shapiro RE. Drug-induced serotonin syndrome: a review. Expert Opin Drug Saf. 2008 Sep;7(5):587–96.
  10. Arora B, Kannikeswaran N. The serotonin syndrome—the need for physician’s awareness. Int J Emerg Med. 2010 Dec;3(4):373–7.
  11. Birmes P, Coppin D, Schmitt L, Lauque D. Serotonin syndrome: a brief review. CMAJ. 2003;168(11):1439-1442.
  12. Monti JM, Jantos H. The roles of dopamine and serotonin, and of their receptors, in regulating sleep and waking. In: Di Giovann G, Di Matteo V, Esposito E, editors. Progress in Brain Research [Internet]. Elsevier; 2008 [cited 2020 Jul 3]. p. 625–46. (Serotonin–Dopamine Interaction: Experimental Evidence and Therapeutic Relevance; vol. 172). Available from: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0079612308009291
  13. Thorré K, Sarre S, Smolders I, Ebinger G, Michotte Y. Dopaminergic regulation of serotonin release in the substantia nigra of the freely moving rat using microdialysis. Brain Res. 1998 Jun 15;796(1–2):107–16.
  14. Mills KC. SEROTONIN SYNDROME: A Clinical Update. Crit Care Clin. 1997 Oct 1;13(4):763–83.
  15. Bijl D. The serotonin syndrome. Neth J Med. 2004 Oct;62(9):309–13.
  16. Luethi D, Hoener MC, Krähenbühl S, Liechti ME, Duthaler U. Cytochrome P450 enzymes contribute to the metabolism of LSD to nor-LSD and 2-oxo-3-hydroxy-LSD: Implications for clinical LSD use. Biochem Pharmacol. 2019;164:129–38.
  17. Shen H-W, Jiang X-L, Winter JC, Yu A-M. Psychedelic 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine: metabolism, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and pharmacological actions. Curr Drug Metab. 2010 Oct;11(8):659–66.
  18. Low Y, Setia S, Lima G. Drug&drug interactions involving antidepressants: focus on desvenlafaxine. Neuropsychiatr Dis Treat. 2018 Feb;Volume 14:567–80.
  19. Johnson MW, Richards WA, Griffiths RR. Human Hallucinogen Research: Guidelines for Safety. J Psychopharmacol Oxf Engl. 2008 Aug;22(6):603–20.
  20. Bonson K, Buckholtz JW, Murphy DL. Chronic Administration of Serotonergic Antidepressants Attenuates the Subjective Effects of LSD in Humans. Neuropsychopharmacology. 1996 Jun;14(6):425–36.
  21. Bonson KR, Murphy DL. Alterations in responses to LSD in humans associated with chronic administration of tricyclic antidepressants, monoamine oxidase inhibitors or lithium. Behav Brain Res. 1995 Dec;73(1–2):229–33.
  22. Kaneda Y, Kawamura I, Fujii A, Ohmori T. Serotonin syndrome — ‘potential’ role of the CYP2D6 genetic polymorphism in Asians. Int J Neuropsychopharmacol. 2002 Mar 1;5(1):105–6.